Steak and Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
We really enjoyed this salad as a main course, adding Parker House rolls to round out the meal. From adults to little kids, we all loved the flavor combination. The only changes we made were to use cherry tomatoes after reading some of the posts, and we grilled the steak instead of frying it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Although some might like cranberries and walnuts, it's not for me in the salad. But the raw fresh spinach and beef are appetetizing. Used thinly carved sirloin, cherry tomatoes halved, and of course bleu cheese. Dressing is up to the individual. A fresh vinegarette or Bleu Cheese compliments the beef. Warming the beef is fine, but don't get rid of that pink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
620 calories without the dressing and 32 g of fat!!! I would never eat such unhealthy sallad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
The secret to this is,the steak should be at least 1" thick.When cooked you slice it very thin at 45% angle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Great recipe! if you want to use a cheaper cut of steak but want it tender slice your steak and cook in the slow cooker with beef broth and spices while you are at work. Drain and use the steak slices for your salad. Quick and easy dinner and the meat is very tender without the cost
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIGGSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I followed some suggestions like crumbled blue cheese and red onion...AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I make a salad similar to this but grill the steak outside and make sure it's crusty outside and nice and rare within. For a sauce I mix an 8oz container of sour cream with a small grated apple, grated ginger and horseradish. Salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soupwhistle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I picked up steak that was presliced for stir fry and used raspberry vinegarette. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
The recipe calls for 16 ounces of top round steak. Clearly more than enough meat for 2 portions. I used the same amount of money as for a pound of meat and bought 8 ounces of a better, more tender cut of steak. We enjoyed the flavors of the cranberries and toasted walnuts with a balsmanic dressing. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
We do steak salad all the time and I like the addition of the cranberry and walnut here, will defintely use that next time. Round steak is not a great choice however, we use flat iron or skirt, which are very tender juicy cuts that don't break the bank. No need to cook til it's "no longer pink inside" either -- I like mine med rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bferris19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellmore, New York, USA
Living In: Kirklyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States