Steak and Kidney Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Great S/K pie, I do add peas and carrots diced small and garlic mash potatoes on the side and make the dish for 4, great demand for steak and kidney lovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I tried this, didn't use the potatoes and used a frozen pie crust that I rolled out. It came out great! The gravy was very tasty. We finished the whole thing in 2 days! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I have made this several times. I add mushrooms sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettyann
Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
this was my first attept at a pot pie and i must say it was a surprise to see the end result.. one would think it was store bought, this was good,swaped bacon fat for the lard,oh and used store bought pie crusts they came 2 to abox 1 for the top 1 for the bottom,i did wind up with a lot filling,filled 2 deep dish pie shells with alot still left over,i will do this one again. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poor mike

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyburn, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I have never cooked or consumed Kidney before and was glad to be informed of the smell. I lit a candle and followed the recipe top to bottom. I did not eat this, but the 77 year old English couple I cooked this for raved as to the quality and taste like home. So............. I guess it is Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEARA
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This had great flavor. We followed the recipe exactly, but I might cut down on potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very much like my Grandma's recipe, which was one of my favorite dishes that she made. I can only think of a few differences. I believe she used baking soda rather than salt to soak the kidneys. She baked it in a very large, deep aluminum pie dish, and would place an inverted custard cup smack-dab in the middle of the lower crust before spooning in the filling. This held the top crust up and kept it from lying on the filling and getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is a very, very good recipe. One thing I do is put it in individual casseroles or foil loaf pans, cover with pastry, and what I do not use cover tightly and they are ready to use for the next time .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
Good pie, but quite messy and smelly to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey Phillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States