Steak and Ale Pie with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was so, so bland. I tried adding ketchup, like one reviewer suggested, but it didn't do much to change the bland taste. Nothing else I added could redeem it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Mmm!!! This made my house smell so goooood. I used leftover moose roast, left all the seasonings etc. the same. I realized last minute that the only flour I had left was rice flour, so, gross, and I thickened it with an envelope of Hunter gravy from Knorr instead. I don't know, I think that it would have been just as amazing with the recipe as it is. Next time I will make it as the recipe calls for, and see how it goes. Thanks for this, we love it! Cozy winter food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FreshBaked

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
FANTASTIC!! Followed the recipe but made small changes, added carrots like the reviews said, omitted the thyme and added 1/2 cup of beef broth for more juice. Husbands went for seconds! Will for sure make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I tried this recipe once with my mom, we used 3 cans and a little water to add a bit more liquid to the pie. It was an excellent pie and sooo easy to prepare, doing it again for a school project
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I modified this recipe, mostly because I really, really dislike mushrooms, but I really like steak and ale pie. I marinated 1lb beef in the worcestershire sauce, thyme, garlic, and parsley (1/2 tsp dried instead of 1 1/2 tsp fresh) for 6ish hours before I cooked it, and took the meat out about an hour before I cooked it. I tossed the bite sized cubed potatoes in a little olive oil, salt and pepper, and another 2 tablespoons of garlic. Instead of mushrooms, I cut up 3 carrots into bite sized pieces and tossed with a teaspoon of sugar. I baked the potatoes and carrots at 475 for 10-15 mins on aluminum foil over a baking sheet. I sauteed the beef and onions in a tablespoon of butter until the beef was browned and the onions were soft - adding salt and pepper to taste. Added a bottle of Guiness (11.5 oz I think), 3 beef bouillons, and sauteed for a bit. Spooned out the meat and onions and put the beef mixture and the potatoes/carrots in a big mixing bowl and set them aside. Reduced the Guiness, and mixed a spoonful of it with the flour then added that back to the sauce - came out thick. I poured the liquid into the big mixing bowl, stirred a little, then spooned the reduction into the pie pan, too. I only used a top pie crust that I had made from scratch - when I made it the first time I found two crusts were just too much (and I love crust!). Baked at 375 for 50 mins, and... delicious. Thanks for a yummy recipe! My boyfriend from the UK loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Instead of putting this in a pie, we ended up having this as a wrap with a lot of cheese. It was delicious - very creamy and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zak & Helly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Good. Added carrots and beans. Also used 2 bottles pale ale (and a bit of water) because not enough liquid. Used thyme, basil and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xayide
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was delicious and easier to make than I had expected. I used a ready-made pie crust and a deep dish 9" pan. I took the advice of other reviewers and left the saucepan covered during all of the simmering steps to preserve the fluids, and I used a bunch of cornstarch (which works better for me with gravies) instead of the flour when making the rue. Overall a big Superbowl Sunday hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was Awesome! I didn't quite follow the recipe as written, but I didn't change much. I used an imported beer from the UK (boddingtons). It came in a pint can and, after reading some of the reviews about too little liquid, I used all of it. I put the beef, onions and beer into a casserole and cooked in the oven for about 2 hours at 300f. I did this in the morning and left the meat in the cooling oven. This made the meat extremely tender and allowed the flavor from the beer to be fully absorbed. I transferred the meat, onions and beer to a saucepan and continued to follow the recipe exactly. I didn't change anything else and it was absolutely delicious! My husband had been waiting for me to make this pie for some time and he was not disappointed. He has not stopped talking about how good it tasted. This will definitely be a favorite in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States