Steak and Ale Pie with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I've made a pie just like this except using red wine instead of ale, for years! My family and friends love it. Being British, I used to use lamb's kidneys instead of mushrooms, but they have not been available for ages, so I began using the mushrooms and the pie has been a hit with everyone! I also use the rolled prepared pie crusts in a box as they bake to a very light, flakey crust that many people can't achieve from scratch. Other than that, the ingredients in my pie are the same and it's one of the best ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roni Mendez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
My boyfriend and I LOVED this! We used Guinness and it turned out great. The first time, I followed the recipe but also added a few things such as basil and garlic and herb seasoning and some extra onion, not because it needs it, but because we really like onions. The second time, I took a roast and put it in the crockpot with the onions, Guinness and seasonings and let it cook all day. I used the juices to cook the mushrooms in and then combined everything. I made a package of beef gravy to top it with on our plates.Thanks so much for this great recipe! I think it will be a new staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
My Family just loved it! I added 2 tablespoons of Tomato sauce,a beef bouillon cube and 2 cups of water. Other than those slight changes I followed the recipe exactly! Thanks it will be enjoyed by my family for a long time to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
My husband and I really liked this recipe, although at the end, I added a package of brown gravy mix and enough water to make it saucy enough. Also used a 10" pie plate and only put a crust on top. Next time, I will use only 1# of beef and more mushrooms and omit the thyme. We thought the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Definitely the best beef pie filling I've ever made. I followed the recipe closely, with minor changes: I used fresh thyme, fried the onions and simmered the beef gently for an hour (with lid on). I added 2 small carrots, sliced, with the potatoes. Because we're trying to lose some weight we gained over Christmas, I used a mashed potato topping in stead of the pastry (and reduced the amount of potato in the filling). The whole family gave it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe. I added tomato paste, and some carrots to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Taegu, Taegu-Gwangyoksi, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Fantastic recipe!! I browned my diced stew meat first to add that "brown" flavor to the dish, then deglazed the pan w/onions and 2 T minced garlic. Readded the meat and a bottle of Killian's Irish Red. I did not have a problem with too little liquid, perhaps because I kept the dish covered as it simmered. Only other additions were a spoon full of beef base (no additional liquid) and a dash of liquid smoke. Great and flavorful, even my grandson loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bunny
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Thank you Master Chef L!! This was fabulous! It was my first time tasting steak&ale pie so it really did leave an impression. (I'm from Thailand, they don't make it here) Also, thanks to everyone who commented because they were very helpful. I made 2 pies so I kept one pot covered and the other not. The covered pot had more flavor than the uncovered. I also used Guinness for ale and marinated the meats in Soy Sauce (it's a Thai thing) before browning it and it was pretty good. Everyone at my office is raving about it and that's saying a lot because it's very difficult to please Thai people with Western food. My British friend said it was amazing. Again, thank you Mrs. L! You're the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny
Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
A great recipe base that needed very little modification at all. I carmelised the onions first, to give it a bit of extra sweetness. I recommend Guinness as the beer - it keeps the gravy dark and hearty. I also threw in a dash of scotch at the beginning to give it a little extra spice. Tomato is also a good addition, if you like the flavour that it provides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
We only made the filling for this. We used leftover roast that had been cooked in a slow cooker with beef consume and canned onion soup. We onitted the potatoes but added the rest of the ingredients. Instead of a pastry crust e just the potatoes called for in the recipe to make mashed potatoes. We topped the meat mixture with the mashed potatoes prior to baking. Turned out wonderful. Very flavorful meat mixture indeed. So, we didn't follow the whole recipe so I can't say how that would have been. I just know that meat part was great. Thanks for the recipe. Will use this in the future to do the same thing. Oh, and for the beer we used a vey dark one from a local micro brewery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States