Steak and Ale Pie with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I've made a pie just like this except using red wine instead of ale, for years! My family and friends love it. Being British, I used to use lamb's kidneys instead of mushrooms, but they have not been available for ages, so I began using the mushrooms and the pie has been a hit with everyone! I also use the rolled prepared pie crusts in a box as they bake to a very light, flakey crust that many people can't achieve from scratch. Other than that, the ingredients in my pie are the same and it's one of the best ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roni Mendez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was a hearty meal but I did need to adjust a bit as it was a bit bland. I added some carrots, a cup of beef broth (as there was not enough liquid to cook the potatoes and tenderize the stew meat) and lastly I thought to add some tomato flavor. I did not have tomato paste but added 2 Tbsp of ketchup and I immediatly knew it just what the dish needed. I had to cook it longer than 30 minutes to get the meat to a stew type tenderness. I only used a top pie crust to make it easier. It cut down the time in the oven and seemed perfect and not overpowering. I would make this again but with the modifications. My husband being more of a meat and potato guy would want it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
My boyfriend and I LOVED this! We used Guinness and it turned out great. The first time, I followed the recipe but also added a few things such as basil and garlic and herb seasoning and some extra onion, not because it needs it, but because we really like onions. The second time, I took a roast and put it in the crockpot with the onions, Guinness and seasonings and let it cook all day. I used the juices to cook the mushrooms in and then combined everything. I made a package of beef gravy to top it with on our plates.Thanks so much for this great recipe! I think it will be a new staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
My Family just loved it! I added 2 tablespoons of Tomato sauce,a beef bouillon cube and 2 cups of water. Other than those slight changes I followed the recipe exactly! Thanks it will be enjoyed by my family for a long time to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Made this last night, and I also had problems with the amount of liquid left in the pan by the end, when following the cooking times. I added some water, but think another bottle of beer at the beginning, or the addition of beef broth would have done the trick. I also tweeked the spices, adding in ground sage, some carrots. It had a great flavor, but was a tad dry inside the crust. I also sprinkled a little shredded cheddar just before putting the top crust on, gave a nice taste. I would try this again for sure, just with some more 'gravy' inside. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
My husband and I really liked this recipe, although at the end, I added a package of brown gravy mix and enough water to make it saucy enough. Also used a 10" pie plate and only put a crust on top. Next time, I will use only 1# of beef and more mushrooms and omit the thyme. We thought the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
After reading all the reviews I can safely say that this recipe does need extra liquid. I thought I had simmered it too long, but it would have been great with the addition of some beef broth. I had to simmer the meat about 50 minutes instead of the 30 because after 30 minutes the stew meat was just rubbery - maybe I didn't use good enough meat. Also, unless you really like worcestershire, I'd start with one tablespoon and add more to taste. Other than that it was quite tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Definitely the best beef pie filling I've ever made. I followed the recipe closely, with minor changes: I used fresh thyme, fried the onions and simmered the beef gently for an hour (with lid on). I added 2 small carrots, sliced, with the potatoes. Because we're trying to lose some weight we gained over Christmas, I used a mashed potato topping in stead of the pastry (and reduced the amount of potato in the filling). The whole family gave it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Excellent recipe. Used a bottle of Sam Adams Light I had in the fridge. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States