Steak and Ale Pie with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Instead of putting this in a pie, we ended up having this as a wrap with a lot of cheese. It was delicious - very creamy and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zak & Helly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Good. Added carrots and beans. Also used 2 bottles pale ale (and a bit of water) because not enough liquid. Used thyme, basil and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xayide
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was delicious and easier to make than I had expected. I used a ready-made pie crust and a deep dish 9" pan. I took the advice of other reviewers and left the saucepan covered during all of the simmering steps to preserve the fluids, and I used a bunch of cornstarch (which works better for me with gravies) instead of the flour when making the rue. Overall a big Superbowl Sunday hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was Awesome! I didn't quite follow the recipe as written, but I didn't change much. I used an imported beer from the UK (boddingtons). It came in a pint can and, after reading some of the reviews about too little liquid, I used all of it. I put the beef, onions and beer into a casserole and cooked in the oven for about 2 hours at 300f. I did this in the morning and left the meat in the cooling oven. This made the meat extremely tender and allowed the flavor from the beer to be fully absorbed. I transferred the meat, onions and beer to a saucepan and continued to follow the recipe exactly. I didn't change anything else and it was absolutely delicious! My husband had been waiting for me to make this pie for some time and he was not disappointed. He has not stopped talking about how good it tasted. This will definitely be a favorite in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This pie was excellent as it is. Ever since I returned from Scotland I have been craving a meat pie. This pie hit the spot. Hearty and flavorful. Follow the recipe and you will be fine. I don't think people should rate this recipe if they have made changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Not bad, but I think I don't like the combo of thyme, worchestershire and ale - a little too bitter. A chunk of cheddar and a bite of bread did help with the bitterness, though. I did add a little more garlic and a boullion cube. Next time I think I will add more garlic and onion and leave out the thyme and worchestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Fanastic pie - my family loved it - I cooked the meat for 1 hour and add a litte bit of water and it pie meat and gravy was thick meaty I also added a 2 cups of extra mushrooms as we like them so much but that is a personal taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This pie was fantastic! I used a big can of Guinness, added some carrots and about 1/4 cup of ketchup for a little extra flavor. I think the longer you stew the meat, the better. Mine simmered for at least an hour. Super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
How do you prevent soggy bottom crust. I really want a top and bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shar

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States