Steak and Ale Pie with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by xayide
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was delicious and easier to make than I had expected. I used a ready-made pie crust and a deep dish 9" pan. I took the advice of other reviewers and left the saucepan covered during all of the simmering steps to preserve the fluids, and I used a bunch of cornstarch (which works better for me with gravies) instead of the flour when making the rue. Overall a big Superbowl Sunday hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was Awesome! I didn't quite follow the recipe as written, but I didn't change much. I used an imported beer from the UK (boddingtons). It came in a pint can and, after reading some of the reviews about too little liquid, I used all of it. I put the beef, onions and beer into a casserole and cooked in the oven for about 2 hours at 300f. I did this in the morning and left the meat in the cooling oven. This made the meat extremely tender and allowed the flavor from the beer to be fully absorbed. I transferred the meat, onions and beer to a saucepan and continued to follow the recipe exactly. I didn't change anything else and it was absolutely delicious! My husband had been waiting for me to make this pie for some time and he was not disappointed. He has not stopped talking about how good it tasted. This will definitely be a favorite in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This pie was excellent as it is. Ever since I returned from Scotland I have been craving a meat pie. This pie hit the spot. Hearty and flavorful. Follow the recipe and you will be fine. I don't think people should rate this recipe if they have made changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Not bad, but I think I don't like the combo of thyme, worchestershire and ale - a little too bitter. A chunk of cheddar and a bite of bread did help with the bitterness, though. I did add a little more garlic and a boullion cube. Next time I think I will add more garlic and onion and leave out the thyme and worchestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Fanastic pie - my family loved it - I cooked the meat for 1 hour and add a litte bit of water and it pie meat and gravy was thick meaty I also added a 2 cups of extra mushrooms as we like them so much but that is a personal taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This pie was fantastic! I used a big can of Guinness, added some carrots and about 1/4 cup of ketchup for a little extra flavor. I think the longer you stew the meat, the better. Mine simmered for at least an hour. Super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
How do you prevent soggy bottom crust. I really want a top and bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
The rating I gave was for the recipe as written. There was not enough liquid to cook the meat and the potatoes good and soft. I followed one review and added broth. But there was not enough liquid to add the flour to and make it creamy. I added cream of mush soup to try and make it creamy. I then added a lil more beer. But the beer was over powering. It gave it a funny after taste. It could have just been the beer I used. I may try and use red wine like person suggested, or a different beer. I think this recipe could be good, but just not as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I used leftover petite sirloin steaks that we grilled last night, only half the beer (I was reluctant to use all of it because I've had recipes turn out poorly with a whole bottle), a little more flour, and browning sauce (Kitchen Bouquet) instead of Worcestershire sauce. I'm convinced that browning sauce makes all beef based recipes like this taste better. And it sure was good, my fiance and I loved it! He said it was "somewhere between amazing and awesome." I can't imagine the pie turning out any better than it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Review Aug 26, 09: I started with already cooked steak meat, which I cubed and dumped in the pot with the rest of the ingredients. Although I did cut the potatoes a little larger, it takes much longer than noted in the recipe to cook them. So much so, actually, that I ended up adding another bottle of beer to the mix as well as about 1/2 c of water since the beer simmered off. I don't like mushrooms or steak at all, so I'm making this for the bf. I'll update when he tries it. It does smell good, I'll admit, though. I used the No Fail Pie Crust I from here for this meat pie. Thanks for the recipe! **Update: Bf seemed to like this, which is good since I made him eat it every meal until it was gone. He apparently decided it was good enough to eat in quarters, not in 8ths like pies are generally cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States