Steak and Ale Pie with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This pie was excellent as it is. Ever since I returned from Scotland I have been craving a meat pie. This pie hit the spot. Hearty and flavorful. Follow the recipe and you will be fine. I don't think people should rate this recipe if they have made changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Not bad, but I think I don't like the combo of thyme, worchestershire and ale - a little too bitter. A chunk of cheddar and a bite of bread did help with the bitterness, though. I did add a little more garlic and a boullion cube. Next time I think I will add more garlic and onion and leave out the thyme and worchestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Fanastic pie - my family loved it - I cooked the meat for 1 hour and add a litte bit of water and it pie meat and gravy was thick meaty I also added a 2 cups of extra mushrooms as we like them so much but that is a personal taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This pie was fantastic! I used a big can of Guinness, added some carrots and about 1/4 cup of ketchup for a little extra flavor. I think the longer you stew the meat, the better. Mine simmered for at least an hour. Super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
How do you prevent soggy bottom crust. I really want a top and bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
The rating I gave was for the recipe as written. There was not enough liquid to cook the meat and the potatoes good and soft. I followed one review and added broth. But there was not enough liquid to add the flour to and make it creamy. I added cream of mush soup to try and make it creamy. I then added a lil more beer. But the beer was over powering. It gave it a funny after taste. It could have just been the beer I used. I may try and use red wine like person suggested, or a different beer. I think this recipe could be good, but just not as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I used leftover petite sirloin steaks that we grilled last night, only half the beer (I was reluctant to use all of it because I've had recipes turn out poorly with a whole bottle), a little more flour, and browning sauce (Kitchen Bouquet) instead of Worcestershire sauce. I'm convinced that browning sauce makes all beef based recipes like this taste better. And it sure was good, my fiance and I loved it! He said it was "somewhere between amazing and awesome." I can't imagine the pie turning out any better than it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Review Aug 26, 09: I started with already cooked steak meat, which I cubed and dumped in the pot with the rest of the ingredients. Although I did cut the potatoes a little larger, it takes much longer than noted in the recipe to cook them. So much so, actually, that I ended up adding another bottle of beer to the mix as well as about 1/2 c of water since the beer simmered off. I don't like mushrooms or steak at all, so I'm making this for the bf. I'll update when he tries it. It does smell good, I'll admit, though. I used the No Fail Pie Crust I from here for this meat pie. Thanks for the recipe! **Update: Bf seemed to like this, which is good since I made him eat it every meal until it was gone. He apparently decided it was good enough to eat in quarters, not in 8ths like pies are generally cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
We only made the filling for this. We used leftover roast that had been cooked in a slow cooker with beef consume and canned onion soup. We onitted the potatoes but added the rest of the ingredients. Instead of a pastry crust e just the potatoes called for in the recipe to make mashed potatoes. We topped the meat mixture with the mashed potatoes prior to baking. Turned out wonderful. Very flavorful meat mixture indeed. So, we didn't follow the whole recipe so I can't say how that would have been. I just know that meat part was great. Thanks for the recipe. Will use this in the future to do the same thing. Oh, and for the beer we used a vey dark one from a local micro brewery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
A great recipe base that needed very little modification at all. I carmelised the onions first, to give it a bit of extra sweetness. I recommend Guinness as the beer - it keeps the gravy dark and hearty. I also threw in a dash of scotch at the beginning to give it a little extra spice. Tomato is also a good addition, if you like the flavour that it provides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States