Steak Tips with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I've made this twice now. The first time I found the sauce gummy and thought adding the flour ruined a beautiful sauce. So the second time I dropped the second can of broth and flour and instead whisked in 2 tablespoons of cold unsalted butter to thicken the sauce. The butter adds richness, intensfies the flavors and gives the sauce a lovely sheen. Because beef broth can be very weak tasting, I added 2 tablespoons of beef demi-glace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This was easy, fairly quick, and lovely! Rather than grill the steak, I cut it into bite-size pieces and browned it before cooking the mushrooms, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
WOW! This was fabulous - my husband was blubbering with happiness over this dish. We added a bit of fresh rosemary to the sauce BEFORE reducing it - I think it added a terrific flavor. Also omitted any added salt since the broth is salty (used 99% fat free). Did not grill the sirloin tip but cooked it in the oven and it turned out great. Will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Classic indeed. Only used 1 cup of wine and 1 can of broth to start. Reduced it to 1/2 to intensify a bit more and added another cup of broth with the flour wisked into that. Also added the nummy juices from the grilled steak from the "resting" plate. Only used 2 4" portabella caps, that was plenty. This was the perfect companion for a candlelite dinner and a bottle of good wine. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I thought this was a solid, reliable mushroom sauce -- nothing out-of-this-world unique, but just right when you want something classic. We used this over sirloin steaks, and it worked out great. Preparation was easy and the kind of thing you can have on the stove while multitasking preparation for something else! I used plenty of garlic -- probably quadruple what the recipe called for. I used cornstarch instead of flour for thickening, and I would NOT recommend doing that -- it made it a bit too gooey. Next time I will definitely try flour. Great overall though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I though this recipe was very good! I halved the amount of wine and broth needed for the sauce and I still ended up with enough for leftovers. Instead of using a shallot, I used a vidalia onion because that's what I had on hand and I like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kiel, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I have made this mushroom sauce many times and I have to say it is wonderful! I use a cabernet that I would drink in a glass. Cheap wine has no place in this recipe! It cost more to make but it is oh so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
Came in late last night after soccer practices and games, the computer was down so I couldn't access allrecipes to get my recipe and I just tried to remember the best that I could. After I mixed in the ingredients, the computer comes back up and wouldn't you know, I had combined two different recipes. I will be posting the same review for both because it worked great. I used regular portabellas and used no flour in this recipe. I think the sirloin maybe was a little dried out and next time I wouldn't brown as long as I did. However, the sauce was great when combined with the other recipe (see reviews). Went great with Yellow Tail Shiraz Cab and I actually used a straight Shiraz instead of burgundy in the recipe. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I thought this was very good...hubby liked as well. I followed the recipe exactly. The only change I will make in the future is to cut down on the wine and to add garlic to the dish. Overall the taste was very flavorful (but I think the wine was a little dominant). Will definately make again, thanks for thepost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
What a great, easy sophisticated dish. My family loved it and I can't wait to serve to friends. I'm recommending this to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States