Steak Tips with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Very Good, Great Flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Maybe I was expecting something else, but the end result was very unappealing. The whole thing was dark brown almost black, and the flavor was bland. Nothing special, and like another review said, too much work for the not-so-special dish. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I thought this was a solid, reliable mushroom sauce -- nothing out-of-this-world unique, but just right when you want something classic. We used this over sirloin steaks, and it worked out great. Preparation was easy and the kind of thing you can have on the stove while multitasking preparation for something else! I used plenty of garlic -- probably quadruple what the recipe called for. I used cornstarch instead of flour for thickening, and I would NOT recommend doing that -- it made it a bit too gooey. Next time I will definitely try flour. Great overall though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
These were so tasty, the sauce was just great, although I reduced it too much and it was a bit too thick. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
Came in late last night after soccer practices and games, the computer was down so I couldn't access allrecipes to get my recipe and I just tried to remember the best that I could. After I mixed in the ingredients, the computer comes back up and wouldn't you know, I had combined two different recipes. I will be posting the same review for both because it worked great. I used regular portabellas and used no flour in this recipe. I think the sirloin maybe was a little dried out and next time I wouldn't brown as long as I did. However, the sauce was great when combined with the other recipe (see reviews). Went great with Yellow Tail Shiraz Cab and I actually used a straight Shiraz instead of burgundy in the recipe. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This was not bad at all but I will try this again and cut down on the wine. I served it over buttered egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Taste was OK, but not spectacular. Was nice to try, but probably not worth the effort for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
Wonderful - very yummy!! Made this twice already!and is so easy! Added 2cans of mushroom soup and 2 cans mushrooms, also added some fresh sliced mushrooms!Have to double the next time! it disappears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANNA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Very good. My husband made this & had to use cornstarch instead of flour because it didn't thicken. He mentioned that the directions had omitted when to add the thyme. He'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
WAY TOO MUCH WORK TO PREPARE FOR OVERALL TASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States