Steak Tips with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Fantastic with the few ingredients involved. I don't grill, so I seared large cubes of sirloin and let it simmer in my dutch oven for 4 hours. Very tender meat. I would use less butter next time because 1/4 cup was just too much for my taste. Also I used more broth to compensate for the omission of wine. I subbed rosemary for the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I used regular mushrooms and it was amazing. Will try with portobello soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paulettep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
used half the wine (husband not a fan of cooking with any wine) more beef broth to make up for the liquid...while grilling meat I added some montreal rub to it...used corn starch in place of flour and used some of broth to make roue (sp) SWEET! Kids (fussy little ones) LOVED it ...so did rest of family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Tried it once on my family, am making for company soon. So decadent! Used filet mignon (seasoned with a bit of olive oil and steak rub) and regular mushrooms, a nice cab, and cornstarch instead of flour. Otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
The sauce makes this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Good recipe but not great because it just needs more flavor. I suggest using fresh rosemary instead of thyme and triple the shallots. The wine flavor was just not strong enough so I added more at the last minute. Mushrooms were the best part. I give a 3-star rating because I think recipes need to be great if you follow them. If much tweaking is needed then the rating should drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Very good, will make again. I did like others suggested and used butter instead of flour and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was a pretty good sauce, although my steak tips were tough. Next time I will add more garlic and less wine. The kids loved this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I just made the sauce part of this to go with steaks for a New Years party...it was wonderful. I used merlot wine, 1 pkg sliced baby bellas and 1pkg sliced shitakke musrooms instead and it was really good. Just a tad salty, though, might use the lower sodium broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Wow- I love this sauce! I had a really awful cut of meat, but the sauce was so good I licked my plate, a new low! lol I used green onions v shallots, white caps v portabellas, and cornstarch v flour. I held back some beef broth to whisk the flour in before adding to the sauce to prevent clumps. A must!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States