Steak Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
I LOVE this soup! It's the best I've ever made. I used vegetable stock because I had no beef broth. I added Better Than Bouillon to it for more flavor. I used fresh off the cob corn, green beans, peas, carrots, great northern beans, and quinoa. (no potatoes). I will make this again. It was wonderful to have a healthy lunch at work every day last week. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaiNai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I will totes make this again. I didn't have majoram so i used some thyme instead. Left out the tomato paste as suggested by others. I added garlic powder, salt, and pepper. I used frozen corn instead of the canned too. I let the soup cook much longer too, before and after adding the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandacakes108

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Delicious! I agree with the other reviews, this was a hearty soup with a tasty broth. I heeded the advise of others and cut down on the tomato paste by half. I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I have NEVER made a good beef vegetable soup until now! Great recipe. I did follow the advice of others and did not add the tomato paste. Had some V-8 and added about 1/4-1/2 c. Just enough tomato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I had high expectations based on the good reviews however I found it to be bland. Maybe garlic would have kicked it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Did not add tomatoe paste. Soup was tasty & hardy. Great meal in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Really good, but the cook time was way off for me. I used well trimmed beef stew meat for the steak. It took about 1 hour of simmering to get it where I wanted to start. Next time I will add more onion and less meat, it was super meaty. The biggest time problem came when I added the vegetables. I used red potatoes, which have a similar texture to yukon golds, and I cut the celery amount about in half because celery has a tendency to overpower flavors. I think it took a good hour and a half at least to get my potatoes and carrots tender. I know this all depends on the size of slices/dices you use, but I think I went pretty small on my potato doce and carrot slices and it still took forever. The finished product needed a good amount of extra salt and garlic salt to get back to the right flavor. Potatoes and carrots really suck a lot of salt out of a dish. Since I had to simmer for so long to get the vegetables cooked, I lost about half of my liquid. What I ended up with was a very concentrated stew, not a soup. Still very good, just needs a little more beef broth up front if you want a soup consistency or super small diced vegetables to cook faster. Since the tomato paste topic is much discussed on this recipe, I used all but about 2 T. of my can of tomato paste and I din't find it too tomatoes, but I may add a can of diced tomatoes next time for more liquid and for those tomato chunks that I personally like in a veggie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
This soup is easy and delicous! After reading the reviews I decided to make a few changes and it came out perfectly. For starters, I only used one pot. Once the meat and onions were done, I added the flour/spice combination cooking it as directed. Then I deglazed the pot with 1 cup of red wine and a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce. Once that cooked down I added the liquids. i reducing the water by half because I wanted a thick stew type outcome. Served it with a crusty sour dough bread. Yum! The whole family loved it. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I also added cabbage and 1/2 cup dry red wine per some other reviews. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
this soup is fantastic and even better the second day if there are any leftovers, I used stewing beef and cut the pieces smaller it was tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States