Steak Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Delicious! I agree with the other reviews, this was a hearty soup with a tasty broth. I heeded the advise of others and cut down on the tomato paste by half. I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I have NEVER made a good beef vegetable soup until now! Great recipe. I did follow the advice of others and did not add the tomato paste. Had some V-8 and added about 1/4-1/2 c. Just enough tomato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I had high expectations based on the good reviews however I found it to be bland. Maybe garlic would have kicked it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Did not add tomatoe paste. Soup was tasty & hardy. Great meal in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Really good, but the cook time was way off for me. I used well trimmed beef stew meat for the steak. It took about 1 hour of simmering to get it where I wanted to start. Next time I will add more onion and less meat, it was super meaty. The biggest time problem came when I added the vegetables. I used red potatoes, which have a similar texture to yukon golds, and I cut the celery amount about in half because celery has a tendency to overpower flavors. I think it took a good hour and a half at least to get my potatoes and carrots tender. I know this all depends on the size of slices/dices you use, but I think I went pretty small on my potato doce and carrot slices and it still took forever. The finished product needed a good amount of extra salt and garlic salt to get back to the right flavor. Potatoes and carrots really suck a lot of salt out of a dish. Since I had to simmer for so long to get the vegetables cooked, I lost about half of my liquid. What I ended up with was a very concentrated stew, not a soup. Still very good, just needs a little more beef broth up front if you want a soup consistency or super small diced vegetables to cook faster. Since the tomato paste topic is much discussed on this recipe, I used all but about 2 T. of my can of tomato paste and I din't find it too tomatoes, but I may add a can of diced tomatoes next time for more liquid and for those tomato chunks that I personally like in a veggie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
This soup is easy and delicous! After reading the reviews I decided to make a few changes and it came out perfectly. For starters, I only used one pot. Once the meat and onions were done, I added the flour/spice combination cooking it as directed. Then I deglazed the pot with 1 cup of red wine and a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce. Once that cooked down I added the liquids. i reducing the water by half because I wanted a thick stew type outcome. Served it with a crusty sour dough bread. Yum! The whole family loved it. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I also added cabbage and 1/2 cup dry red wine per some other reviews. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
this soup is fantastic and even better the second day if there are any leftovers, I used stewing beef and cut the pieces smaller it was tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Hubby and I loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
A great recipe!! I made this with a good homemade beef bone stock and it was wonderful. A perfect cold weather dish that has found a home on my menu. The recipe is perfect as is, I just changed it a bit for thickness. Enjoy!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States