Steak Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Dinty Moore! Frankly, my mom was a terrible cook. As a kid I remember being so excited when Dinty Moore stew was for dinner--because mom couldn't mess it up. She'd add a can of corn, and that was the best! I found this to be the soup version of this childhood memory. I used sirloin instead of top round and added 11 oz of V-8 in stead of tomato paste -- because my husband hates tomatoes. He loved it; I found it somewhat pedestrian but memory evoking. Comfort food, for sure! I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy926

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Love it!!!! Used ribeye, turned out perfect!!!! Did add a cup of red wine for additional flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gunpackingrandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Tahoe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe! I love the rich tasting broth and am so glad to find an alternative method for adding the flour; flouring tiny meat pieces was never easy for me. I did change a few things like adding frozen peas at the end, omitting the tomato paste and using diced tomatoes with their juice instead and omitting the corn altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherree Watkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
My oldest daughter hates soups,however she tried and she loved. This soup. gets two thumps up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nimi439
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Delicious! I love this recipe, its easy to follow and has simple ingredients. I like that you can add almost any vegetables. It's a hearty stew and I will be making it in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Great recipe! Couple of things: Didn't have beef broth so I threw in a package of french onion soup mix, forgot the bay leaf (oops), nor did I have tomato paste. I replaced that with about a cup of spaghetti sauce. Other than adding a little extra pepper and decreasing the salt (low sodium diet here), that's it. My poor son and his braces loved it since everything was so tender but still had great texture. It was such a relief for us and our taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I agree with the majority of the reviews. 3 tbsp tomato paste is plenty. Also added 3/4 cup wine and peas. May add mor broth next time. I like more liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I have a very, very picky husband who likes nothing new! I tried this recipe anyways and he LOVED IT!! He told me to not change a thing in the recipe. I will be making this soup often. Thank You So Much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This is a very good recipe and an absolute keeper. I unfortunately could not add the corn, since my husband does not like it, but next time will add peas as someone suggested. This recipe is just perfect as is. I may have added a bit extra potatoes and carrots which made it a bit thick. At the moment I only had boneless rib meat and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Believe the reviews. This is incredible. I've been looking for a recipe like this for years. Thanks to whomever shared it. I used 1 cup red wine for the half the water and no tomato paste. My husband and I both love this. It will be a go-to for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States