Steak Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I got rave reviews for this recipe. Didn't change a thing except for throwing in some green beans. This is going to be a favorite winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This recipe is excellent, and I will definitely be making it again. Made it in the slow cooker, instead of stovetop. Easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is very good. It taste like beef stew soup. After reading the reviews and some saying the tomato paste was too much I added it a Tablespoon at a time and used about half the can which was enough for my taste. The marjoram and paprika flavor is nice and while the meat was simmering I added 1/2 c. cabernet wine (dry red wine) which enhanced and brought together the flavors. It took a little longer for my meat to cook to tender. I felt no need to thicken this soup further as it is soup and not stew. Flavors developed more after allowing to rest. Delicious and great with a hunk of crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Excellent and simple soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
made just as directed with the exception of coating the beef with the flour mixture before browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I am thrilled to be the first review. This soup was EXCELLENT! I love soup but have always struggled with veggie/tomato/beef based ones. They just never turn out like I remember mom making. Not until this one that is. I made exactly as written and was very pleased. This would be good with some green beans or peas for added nutrition and color too. Very good full bodied flavor and this will be my go to veggie soup. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I made this soup exactly as explained and it was AWESOME! It was the perfect blend of flavors for me and the perfect consistency. MY family loved it and it has been saved in my recipe box and will be used again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Really good. Using top sirloin insures the beef to be more tender than top round. Putting in crockpot is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This soup was VERY good! I used vegetables that I had on hand. And instead of an entire 6 oz can of tomato paste, I used half a can of tomato sauce and a tablespoon of tomato sauce, cause it's what I had. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esmith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This soup is awesome. I cooked meat mixture (london broil) much longer than recipe states, since it was a rainy Saturday afternoon - 1.5 hours, and added more potatoes and carrots, but otherwise followed recipe. Great, hearty, rich soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States