Steak Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I am thrilled to be the first review. This soup was EXCELLENT! I love soup but have always struggled with veggie/tomato/beef based ones. They just never turn out like I remember mom making. Not until this one that is. I made exactly as written and was very pleased. This would be good with some green beans or peas for added nutrition and color too. Very good full bodied flavor and this will be my go to veggie soup. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I should have more carefully read the reviews for this before making it. I would have either cut WAY down on the tomato paste, or completely omitted it. I was really excited about this soup as I was making it and then when I added the tomato paste, it turned the nice beef broth into a very strong tomato broth. If you love a strong tomato flavor to your steak soup, then this is a great recipe for you. If i make this again, I will definitely omit the paste. Otherwise, this would be a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
YUM!!! The broth for this is fantastic! I only had a tsp of Paprika left in my spice jar, so that is all I used. After reading the reviews, I only used 3 oz of tomato paste and that was perfect for my taste. I substituted peas for the corn and it gave it the perfect hint of color! Will be my go to recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is very good. It taste like beef stew soup. After reading the reviews and some saying the tomato paste was too much I added it a Tablespoon at a time and used about half the can which was enough for my taste. The marjoram and paprika flavor is nice and while the meat was simmering I added 1/2 c. cabernet wine (dry red wine) which enhanced and brought together the flavors. It took a little longer for my meat to cook to tender. I felt no need to thicken this soup further as it is soup and not stew. Flavors developed more after allowing to rest. Delicious and great with a hunk of crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very easy and absolutely delicious. I used top sirloin as another reviewer suggested instead of round steak because I wanted to be sure it was tender. And since some other reviewers were not fans of the tomato paste I just added a bit of the concentrated tomato paste that comes in a tube until it tasted the way I wanted to and it was perfect. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Really good. Using top sirloin insures the beef to be more tender than top round. Putting in crockpot is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
What I love most about AllRecipes is that I can look at several recipes and gather ideas for the perfect dish. In another recipe the author added diced cabbage. I tweaked that in this recipe to adding kale, for both color and nutrition. I used two small cans (5.5 oz) of V8 juice and skipped the tomato Paste altogether. Not a fan Of tomoto-ey things. Lastly, I replaced the potatoes with barley because of the nutritional benefits it brings. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This Soup was Outstanding. My family loved it. I made it the first time just as stated and it was very good. Second time and going forward I add 1 C. of Peas, 1/2 C. Red Wine and 1 Tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce this adds great flavor to the Steak. I also make it more like a soup not thick. My family asks for it all the time even in the summer! Goes great with Rosemary Flatbread. Thanks for the excellent Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Anxious to try this on the advice of a friend, I easily found this soup one of the best I've tried from AR! Echoing many of the reviews, I think it's safe to use as much/little tomato paste as you deem necessary. Since I added a 28 oz can of whole tomatoes (to which I gave a rough chop), I only added 2-3 Tbsp tomato paste since I didn't want to overpower the rest of the soup. I doubled the broth (approximately 9 c total liquid) and used a mix of both beef and chicken bases to taste dissolved in water. I also added about 1/2 c red wine (pinot noir) to the broth while it simmered, as well as a few good sloshes of worchestershire when browning the meat (used top sirloin and glad I did, although I simmered close to an hour to get the desired tenderness I wanted). Omitted the corn and subbed some diced cabbage instead. Needed to use up some sliced button mushrooms, so I sauteed them as I usually do and tossed them in right before serving. Followed recommended spice measurements, but as a garlic lover, I added a couple cloves of sliced garlic to the simmering broth, as well as some garlic powder while the entire soup simmered the final minutes. Smelled delicious and was certainly a welcome dinner on this frigid night. Served with crescent rolls, but next time, a good hunk of crusty bread would be the winning accompaniment for me. Will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I had leftover medium rare Top Sirloin I had marinated and grilled for a party. The next day I googled "steak soup recipe" and found this one. A keeper! Because my steak was already grilled to medium rare I did not put it in with the onions until about a minute before the time came to coat the onion and steak mixture. I sliced it more thin than cubed so there were more "pieces" in the soup. I used Vidalia onions, because they are my fave when I can get them in California. I left out the celery leaves, only because I have family that inexplicably dislikes the the taste of celery. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a "T." Super well received, and the recipe was requested! When I make it again I might add a little more broth because after refrigerating it was much less "soup like." But it was still good. I had some leftover red potatoes I had mashed with 1% low fat milk and Smart Balance and simply added the thick steak soup to them and had the equivalent of a healthy delectable Shepherd's Pie. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States