Steak Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I am thrilled to be the first review. This soup was EXCELLENT! I love soup but have always struggled with veggie/tomato/beef based ones. They just never turn out like I remember mom making. Not until this one that is. I made exactly as written and was very pleased. This would be good with some green beans or peas for added nutrition and color too. Very good full bodied flavor and this will be my go to veggie soup. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This recipe is excellent, and I will definitely be making it again. Made it in the slow cooker, instead of stovetop. Easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I made this soup exactly as explained and it was AWESOME! It was the perfect blend of flavors for me and the perfect consistency. MY family loved it and it has been saved in my recipe box and will be used again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Really good. Using top sirloin insures the beef to be more tender than top round. Putting in crockpot is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This soup was VERY good! I used vegetables that I had on hand. And instead of an entire 6 oz can of tomato paste, I used half a can of tomato sauce and a tablespoon of tomato sauce, cause it's what I had. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esmith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I let my soup simmer all afternoon and the steak was quite tender and delicious. However, the soup never thickened. 3 T of flour is just not enough for this much soup. I ended up making a roux with 6 T butter and 6 T flour and adding it to soup. If I make this soup again, I will omit the tomato paste as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Not bad but I probably wouldn't make it again. It felt like something was missing from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This soup is awesome. I cooked meat mixture (london broil) much longer than recipe states, since it was a rainy Saturday afternoon - 1.5 hours, and added more potatoes and carrots, but otherwise followed recipe. Great, hearty, rich soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I should have more carefully read the reviews for this before making it. I would have either cut WAY down on the tomato paste, or completely omitted it. I was really excited about this soup as I was making it and then when I added the tomato paste, it turned the nice beef broth into a very strong tomato broth. If you love a strong tomato flavor to your steak soup, then this is a great recipe for you. If i make this again, I will definitely omit the paste. Otherwise, this would be a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is very good. It taste like beef stew soup. After reading the reviews and some saying the tomato paste was too much I added it a Tablespoon at a time and used about half the can which was enough for my taste. The marjoram and paprika flavor is nice and while the meat was simmering I added 1/2 c. cabernet wine (dry red wine) which enhanced and brought together the flavors. It took a little longer for my meat to cook to tender. I felt no need to thicken this soup further as it is soup and not stew. Flavors developed more after allowing to rest. Delicious and great with a hunk of crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States