Steak Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I thought this was VERY good. After reading the reviews I made a few changes...I added a T of Worcestershire sauce to the meat when it was cooking and about 1/3 cup of red wine when I added the broth. I cut the paste down to 3 ounces but I'm not sure I'd mind it with the whole 6 ounces called for. I also used sirloin instead of round steak and cooked it longer than the recipe states to ensure it was tender. I tasted it as it was cooking and was afraid it wasn't going to be very flavorful but it was and the flavors all went together very well. I think the wine added a lot. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I was disappointed in this recipe. I read all 59 reviews and even opted for the full can of tomato paste ...... all for nothing!!! It must have been the Marjoram.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Easy,family loved! I always throw in whatever veggies I have on hand as well,leftover green beans, whatever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Delicious!!! That's all i gotta say! A family of 4 destroyed a serving size of 8 in just minutes!! I followed the recipe pretty much the way it was written with the exception that i didn't use yukon but idaho potatoes......it tasted just as good (i think?) I also didn't use the marjoram.....does that spice really make a big difference? Thanks for this recipe!! I will be using it again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
very good flavor, I think the key is adding the tomato to taste. We like tomato so the full amount was fine with us. I'm looking forward to trying some of the others suggested variations like adding red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Hubby really loved this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I really liked this recipe and especially the way you didn't have to coat the meat with flour before you browned it. That is such a yucky messy step in recipes I avoid it. I didn't have majoram or bay leaves so I used some spices I had in the cabinet and dried parsley. Turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
DH absolutely looooved this soup. Very easy and made great left overs. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This was very good! I threw the vegetables in when I added the steak to the soup, which worked well and saved a step. While I will make this again, I think it is missing some kind of spice, though I am not sure what...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by galereed
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I'm not a big soup lover but this is something I will make again. It was awesome! Thanks to the reviewers' advice on tomato paste. Used leftover 1 lb grilled steak seasoned with Montreal steak seasoning--was too tough to eat as is--cheap steak. Used 1/3 can of tomato SAUCE and added 1 tsp. brown sugar for a little sweetness. For stock, used Better Than Bouillion Beef Base for the 1st time. The dark gooey stuff was unappetizing to look at, but was good in the soup. Cooked everything in a dutch oven from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States