Steak Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I always like to try a recipe as is the first time, but my boo doesn't like blue cheese (say what?) so I substituted it for feta. Couldn't find the pimento stuffed olives, so substituted mixed greek. Otherwise, everything was as is, and got 4 thumbs up (from both of us, that is - he doesn't have 4 hands!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Awesome salad! I changed a few things though. I LOVE balsamic vinegar and feel that it should pretty much be in everything, so I put a couple teaspoons of it in the dressing. I also left out the bell pepper and olives, and I just realized I forgot to put the cheese on it too, and it was just fine! We're not big fans of blue cheese anyway. I was inspired by a wonderful salad at the Oyster Bar which has apples and grapes in it, so I added those. OH, MY GOSH...it TOTALLY takes this salad to the next level. Especially the grapes. Purple grapes go sooo well with this dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackieck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This is delicious!!!!!! And i've never liked a steak salad from anywhere in my whole life! I decided to try this one because I had some steak and some salad fixins that needed to be used. I did not use blue cheese (not a fan), I used feta and made the dressing exactly as directed, and OMG it is better than any dressing ever!!! I left out the green pepper and onion (also not a fan), and instead I added fresh mushrooms, 2 carrots instead of one, a stalk of celery, a sliced cucumber, and 3 chopped hard boiled eggs. Served with a garlic loaf and OMG it was the best meal i've eaten in a looooong time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Bomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Piney Flats, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Great salad. My family loves it. No changes needed but might try the feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I switched out the blue cheese for Feta Cheese in the salad dressing. I know I just found a new favorite salad dressing! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I didn't change one thing about this dressing! EXCEPT I did not have blue cheese on hand, I had Feta cheese, and it turned out fantastic. I used the exact measurements and everything (which I normally don't do, because I always change things to suit my individual taste). And I thought that the pimento-stuffed green olives would be kind of weird with this salad... but absolutely not. The whole thing was awesome. I just omitted the carrots and green bell peppers because I don't particularly care for them in my salads. But that's all up to you, because it is definitely all about that dressing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christieomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I had to make one minor change because I cannot stand blue cheese but hubby is a huge fan. I left it out of the dressing mix and just added it to the top of his salad. We enjoyed this salad very much. I added some yellow bell in addition to the green. This made for a nice healthy yet hearty dinner and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Good salad, but not amazing. The DRESSING on the other hand, (after sitting for a while in the fridge) was superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebago, Maine, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This salad is amazing! I left out the blue cheese; not a big fan. Other than that, it is one of our favourite salads for a lite summer lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris.c

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Delicious! I didn't have the extra veggies on hand, so I boiled some potatoes and threw them in with the lettuce, cheese, dressing, and steak for a "steak and potato salad". Making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States