Steak Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Awesome salad! I changed a few things though. I LOVE balsamic vinegar and feel that it should pretty much be in everything, so I put a couple teaspoons of it in the dressing. I also left out the bell pepper and olives, and I just realized I forgot to put the cheese on it too, and it was just fine! We're not big fans of blue cheese anyway. I was inspired by a wonderful salad at the Oyster Bar which has apples and grapes in it, so I added those. OH, MY GOSH...it TOTALLY takes this salad to the next level. Especially the grapes. Purple grapes go sooo well with this dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackieck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This is delicious!!!!!! And i've never liked a steak salad from anywhere in my whole life! I decided to try this one because I had some steak and some salad fixins that needed to be used. I did not use blue cheese (not a fan), I used feta and made the dressing exactly as directed, and OMG it is better than any dressing ever!!! I left out the green pepper and onion (also not a fan), and instead I added fresh mushrooms, 2 carrots instead of one, a stalk of celery, a sliced cucumber, and 3 chopped hard boiled eggs. Served with a garlic loaf and OMG it was the best meal i've eaten in a looooong time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Bomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Piney Flats, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Great salad. My family loves it. No changes needed but might try the feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I switched out the blue cheese for Feta Cheese in the salad dressing. I know I just found a new favorite salad dressing! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I didn't change one thing about this dressing! EXCEPT I did not have blue cheese on hand, I had Feta cheese, and it turned out fantastic. I used the exact measurements and everything (which I normally don't do, because I always change things to suit my individual taste). And I thought that the pimento-stuffed green olives would be kind of weird with this salad... but absolutely not. The whole thing was awesome. I just omitted the carrots and green bell peppers because I don't particularly care for them in my salads. But that's all up to you, because it is definitely all about that dressing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christieomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I had to make one minor change because I cannot stand blue cheese but hubby is a huge fan. I left it out of the dressing mix and just added it to the top of his salad. We enjoyed this salad very much. I added some yellow bell in addition to the green. This made for a nice healthy yet hearty dinner and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Good salad, but not amazing. The DRESSING on the other hand, (after sitting for a while in the fridge) was superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebago, Maine, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This salad is amazing! I left out the blue cheese; not a big fan. Other than that, it is one of our favourite salads for a lite summer lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris.c

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Delicious! I didn't have the extra veggies on hand, so I boiled some potatoes and threw them in with the lettuce, cheese, dressing, and steak for a "steak and potato salad". Making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was perfect to make once home after camping all weekend. Started looking for a salad recipe to use up the leftover tri-tip that wasn't enough to for meal by itself, Had some corn that I sliced into 1" slices, radishes, marinated asparagus (left from the bloody mary's!) mushrooms. The dressing made it all come together!! the down side was garlic gread from the leftover hot dog buns, but hey! I used just about everything up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States