Steak N Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was simply one of the best venison recipes I've ever tried! My husband is a hunter and we have struggled for years trying to find a venison recipe that I liked. An added plus was that the leftovers were wonderful as well! Definately a "must try" for the hesitant hunter's wife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKARAVANIC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Was good and easy. Made the texture and taste of our old, frozen, elk tenderloin, not so bad. I cut the tenderloin up into thin slices and put them in 2 - 1 gallon plastic bags and pounded them with a hammer. I had to fry the steaks in batches since I had more pieces. (BTW...1 cup of flour was more than enough to coat all of the pieces and I ended up throwing a lot away). Didn't use ground bay leaves because we didn't have any and did not substitute it with anything else. Used canola oil instead of olive because I was out of olive oil. Used about 1 1/2 tbsp. of fresh, chopped garlic because we love it. Used 6 brown (also known as cremini or baby portabellas) mushrooms because we don't eat white domestic and I wish we had used more because personally I would have liked mushrooms in every bite. They tasted really good in this recipe. Thanks for the recipe. It's a nice change from the usual fried steak with cream gravy. I'll use it for beef and I'm sure it will taste even better! Also, the gravy was delicious with egg noodles instead of potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERN_GAL12000

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Almost perfect but I swapped white wine for beef broth and I thought the flavor was exceptional! White wine seems to go best with venison despite the rules. Using beef broth with venison runs contrary to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was terrific! I used a dry gravy mix instead of canned, swapped red wine for the milk, and used a whole package of fresh mushrooms. It was delicious with horseradish mashed potatoes and steamed green beans. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This recipe was great. Instead of canned gravy, I made my own or used a dry mix. My family loves this and it has become a regular dish on our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Very good and well received by my family, even the kids! I made mine with cube steaks (although I would be interested to try it with venison someday if the "boys" went out hunting, or I was feeling extravagant enough to buy some.) I was a little leary of using canned gravy, but didn't have the time to add the extra step of making my own. However, the richness of the onion and mushroom gave it a very authentic flavor, you could still taste the "canniness" but not very much. I also would recommend to anyone trying this with cube steaks, simmer it for more like 2 hours as mine was still pretty tough after 1 hour. I'm planning on trying it in my slow cooker the next time I make it, and using canned consumme to make the gravy. All in all, an excellent dinner, I wouldn't serve it to company because it's not the prettiest presentation in the world, but around the table over a pile of mashed potatoes it really satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was excellent. We also eat venison a couple times a week so are always on the lookout for good recipes and this is a definate keeper. Didnt use ground bay leaves-really who has that. But it was great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
The only exception I had was no ground bay leaves on hand, so I used 1 Tbsp of Italian Seasonings and 1 Tbsp of Oregano. It was very tender and made a great gravy - just needed a sprinkling of salt. We will enjoy this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I used sirlion steaks instead of venison steaks and I didn't have any beef gravy, so I used white cooking wine. I also left out the milk. The recipe turned out great. I also cut the flour mixture in half and I still had a lot of mixture left over. Overall, my husband and I thought this was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This was fantasic! I was not taught how to fry foods! By the time I was married and had children everything was baked so it would be "healthy" I feel like I have been "mentored" to learn the art of frying cube steak and gravy just like the "old days". Thank you for your help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSJ1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States