Steak N Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Amazing! I usually hate venison (deer meat) but with this recipe, i absolutely loved it!! Thanks for posting. One thing is i did make my own beef gravy instead of the canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Always looking for good venison recipes -- this one is a KEEPER! I unfortunately can't have mushrooms, so I subbed by sauteing yellow bell pepper with the onion. Also, didn't have beef gravy so used 2 packs of powdered turkey gravy mix mixed with equal parts water/milk -- turned out GREAT! Will try with beef gravy next time; sure the results will be just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina B. Cookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This was really tasty. I had trouble with the bay leaves. I don't have an herb grinder so it wasn't very finely ground but it was still good. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I followed this to the t, except I used white wine like others suggested. Normally I love the flavor cooking with wine gives a meal, in this case, I dont know if cooking with tabasco could have given this dish flavor. I had some of the most incredible venison backstrap and unfortunately chose to cook it with this recipe. 20 minutes later I had a big pot of blannnnnndddddd, chewy, ruined meat, it honestly tasted worse than chuck. What is funny is I had a few pieces that didnt fit into the pan so I just tossed them on another one for a minute a side with some steak seasoning and they were incredible. Should have done that to all of them instead of wasting the last of my backstrap. Sorry but I would have give this a zero stars if possible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
My brother gave us some venison and I wasn't sure how to cook it. I stumbled across this recipe and decided to give it a try...boy am I glad I did! My daughter's boyfriend ate with us and he keeps asking when I'm going to make it again! Absolutely yummy, I can't wait until my brother gives us more venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New York, USA
Living In: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
The entire family loved this recipe! Kids even had 2nd helpings. Only thing I changed was soaking the meat in milk for 24 hours 1st.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I was a little leary about making this but it turned out great. I did make a few changes. To the dry mixture I added spices and herbs. I also added about a half cup of pancake mix. Instead of adding canned gravy I added a can of mushroom soup plus 1 and half cups of beef broth and half a packet of onion soup mix. I also kept the two seperate and laddled the gravy on the steak and potatoes just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milverton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
My husband and I made this a few nights ago and he LOVED it! Instead of fresh mushrooms we used a 4 oz can of mushrooms other than that we followed the recipe exactly. The meat was very tender and did not taste gamey at all. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Really, a fantastic recipe. I made this last night, useing pounded out cube steaks, and they turned out fantastic. I had to make my own gravy, which was defiantely a plus, and I didn't add the mushrooms- mainly because it didn't feel like a mushroom night. Anyone looking for a recipe for smothered steak, this is one to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Was very easy to make. Next time I'll probably try less canned gravy and add some wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States