Steak Mix-Up Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
After reading the reviews, this is what I did. Chopped up a sweet onion and green pepper, minced 3 fresh garlic bulbs and cut my NY strip steaks(which I needed to use up, next time I will use beef cubes) into thin pieces, sprinkled with Lawry seasoning salt. Put the oil in my cast iron skillet and added those ingredients, sauteed for about 10 mins. over med-low heat. Sprinkled some pepper, chili powder, worcestershire sauce, and beef bouillon granuales over that and also added a can of golden mushroom soup and a can of diced tomatoes(omitting the juice), a little milk and about 3 Tblsps of cream cheese. Simmered for about 30 mins. Served over thin spagetti. A keeper, will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was a bit weird. I followed the directions to a T except i used a Flat Iron steak just because it is a more tender cut. Steak was good, the mixture just seemed confused... Tomatoes seemed out of place. Didn't seem to meld together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Yummy. I made some changes (sorry) based on what I had on hand; 1 cup of beef broth instead of milk, no green pepper, no salt because I used the beef broth which was salty and I added about 1/2-3/4 cup of white wine I had in the fridge. I also dredged my steak strips in about 1 Tbsp corn starch (seems to make it tender) mixed with the garlic powder, onion powder and pepper. It was great and very easy. My kids loved it and didn't notice the tomato pieces (normally a hated vegetable).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
My family enjoyed this. I did as others suggested and simmered the sirloin for about 40 minutes in 1 cup of red wine with a 1/2 c of water with 1 teaspoon of boullion. Once it simmered, I then added my peppers, onions and some baby bellas along with the soup and 1 C canned diced tomatoes with green chiles, then simmered for addtional 15 minutes. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
***This was great! I changed it quite a bit though. First thing I changed was I sauteed the beef sirloin strips (had almost 1 lb) w/ onion (not onion salt) and garlic w/ a spash of worschester sauce and the green pepper slivers... for quite a while, like 45 mins. on med-low to make sure it was going to be tender. I added a little chili powder too for some spice. Then I added 1 cup of canned diced tomatoes w/ a little of the juice, quartered baby portabella mushrooms and 3/4 a can of crm of chix soup. I did not add any other liquid, it was pretty liquidy enough. Simmered it for about 15 mins. topped w/ shredded mozz. chz. and served over rice. Kids and their friends that were here ate it happily! Thanks for the post! It was a comforting, familiar dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizycooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I thought this recipe was really good. The other reviewers were correct that the meat needs to simmer for awhile to be tender. I took the advice of one reviewer to add water,and beef bouillon to the simmering meat,but instead of Coke,I added red wine.My family is not huge on onion so I did not add it,to keep it simple. I mixed the canned tomatoes and cream of mushroom soup together with a little more water and let it simmer for about 20 minutes longer. I served it over noodles and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSSIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This recipe is great, quick and easy. I donm't loke tomatoes so I left them out, but i still loved it. Instead of a dinner meal, I served mine for breakfast poured over biscuits. Once again its great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arlene Maldonado
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
The whole family liked this one, even my 5 year old said it was yummy. I substituted the cream of mushroom for the 30% less sodium/ 98% less fat version with lots of pepper and fersh tomatoes from my garden, serves with no yoke noodles and cauliflower on the side. What a great easy and fast meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlene Maldonado

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I just tried this recipe and my family loved it! I used left-over steak barbecued medium-rare the night before and added it the last fifteen minutes of cooking. It was really tender and the barbecued flavour gave it an extra kick. Whenever we barbecue steak my husband now requests that we make an extra one so that we can have this meal the next evening. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I loved this recipe. I had to add a lot more salt and I subsituted the cream of mushroom for cream of celery. I was very surprised that my husband liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States