Steak House Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Hubs made dinner for us tonight and these potatoes were part of it. They were excellent. He used a slightly smaller pan than called for and sliced, rather than cubed the potatoes, but beyond that he strictly stuck to the recipe. We both were really impressed and cleaned these up like nobody's business. So much better, in my view, than the au gratin potatoes with the cheese mixed in with the sauce (the very popular "Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes," also from this site, comes to mind). He didn't measure the cheese, just sprinkled it over the top till it looked just right. The cheese melts and forms a delicious crust over the rich, creamy potatoes. The garlic was just enough to add a little flavor dimension and interest. The fact that it wasn't necessary to cook the sauce on the stove-top first was an added bonus. He served these with a perfectly prepared prime rib roast, steamed broccoli and "Brussels Sprouts with Green Peppers," also from this site. It couldn't have been a better dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
These are very tasty. Try boiling the potatoes for about 10 minutes at first, then put together and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This was a good dish, but it didn't "wow" my taste buds. The sauce was creamy, had lots of garlic flavour and the potato just melted in my mouth. I had no problem with the baking time. Served it with Garlic Cheddar Chicken from this site. Thanks for Sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Very yummmy and quite easy. Cooking time took longer than it says in the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This was good but not so sure if its worth all those calories! I probably baked it to long cause it wasnt creamy at all. The flavor was good though (i love garlic)If i make this again, i will try using whole milk instead of heavy cream. I think it will work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Some said this is boring, but I found the cheddar that you use makes or breaks it. For an amazing dish, use a really sharp or old cheddar, really kicks up the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lambeth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I added pre cooked bacon on top . this recipe is sinfully sumptious!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was very good! The cooking time for me was a bit shorter probably because I cut the potatoes into fork friendly pieces. I also omitted the milk and used an extra bit of heavy cream. I increased the cheese and used sharp I am planning on adding this recipe to my holiday dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Cheesy, creamy potatoes....this dish is delectable! I made a large batch to serve to family and friends and they turned out perfect! The only change I made was to add a little more salt and pepper as well as to add about 1/4 c. finely chopped sweet onions to the cubed potatoes before covering with the sauce. I would recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brianita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
In case people are looking for a heavy cream substitute, I found this. 3/4 cup milk 1/3 cup butter 1. Melt the butter. 2. Pour it into the milk, and stir. 3. Use in place of one cup of heavy cream. Note: This substitute while not whip. Tip: If you use low-fat milk, add a tablespoon of flour to the mixture to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States