Steak House Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I loved this recipe it was so easy. It might have been better if I had all the ingredients but all I was missing was the heavy cream and garlic. It was delicious. I stuck it in the oven and almost forgot about it. Served it with steak that was in the crock pot all day. They matched perfectly. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very good but I just felt like it was lacking something. I would make again but I think I want to add something else to it though. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These took much longer to cook than the recipe stated. In addition, it cried out for salt - among other seasonings. Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackel_inthebox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is our all time favorite - actually a classic as far as I know. Sometimes I add fresh rosemary depending on what I am serving. Difficult to judge exactly how long they take to bake because it depends on what type of potato I use but do prefer not to precook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
There was nothing really special about this dish. I am going to try again adding a four cheese mix from my deli to the milk mixture; think this will boost the taste where we would like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This recipe is always on top!! We all add our own opion to it, but always a good choice. A forever favorite I think. I prefer sharp cheddar myslef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Yum yum yum! These were delicious! The only adjustment I made based on personal taste was to cut down to 2 cloves of garlic, but I think next time I will up it to 3 and see how we like it. I typically don't use alot of salt but I think I could have used a little more here so I added some afterwards. That's easy to change for next time. And there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Yummy! I used some small brown potatoes because that's all I had in the house. Used whole milk instead of reduced fat and also boiled potatoes for 10 minutes to speed cooking time after reading someone another review. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I really liked this recipe because you didn't have to start with the butter flour mixture in the saucepan. This was very easy and tasted pretty good too. I used all whole milk and I think it worked out fine. Will make again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Very good! I wanted to serve au gratin potatoes w/ Easter dinner. Not wanting to make my usual recipe (which calls for canned items), I was on the lookout for something w/ a little homemade pizzaz. B/c my ham had to cook at 350 deg. for 2.5 hrs., I needed a recipe that also cooked at the same temp., so I decided to give Ingalyn's recipe a try. The thought of 2 cups of melted cheese on top of my potatoes didn't appeal to me, so I added finely shredded sharp cheddar cheese (fine shreds melt better) to my cream/milk/flour mixture & heated on med-low heat, whisking constantly until melted. I dbl. everything to accommodate the 6 adults & child I was serving (who all wanted seconds!). To speed prep, I used a food processor to thinly slice my potatoes. I then put them in a lg. pot of ice H2O & set in the fridge until I was ready to assemble (just be sure to drain WELL!). I sliced my potatoes quite thin, so I only had to cook them for 40 min. (covered the entire time). I then added an add'l. 1/2 c. of cheese on top (IN ADDITON to the 2 c. add. to my sauce) & broiled on low for at least 3-4 min. to brown & crisp the top. After resting for 10 minutes, my sauce thickened nicely. Other than my fiance commenting that these were too garlicky (he's SOOO picky!), everyone had nothing but positive comments about them. I still like my good 'ol standby recipe (yes, canned items CAN be good!), but I'm glad I gave this a try. It sure impressed everyone! Thanks for sharing, Debbie! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States