Steak House Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is our all time favorite - actually a classic as far as I know. Sometimes I add fresh rosemary depending on what I am serving. Difficult to judge exactly how long they take to bake because it depends on what type of potato I use but do prefer not to precook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
There was nothing really special about this dish. I am going to try again adding a four cheese mix from my deli to the milk mixture; think this will boost the taste where we would like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This recipe is always on top!! We all add our own opion to it, but always a good choice. A forever favorite I think. I prefer sharp cheddar myslef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Yum yum yum! These were delicious! The only adjustment I made based on personal taste was to cut down to 2 cloves of garlic, but I think next time I will up it to 3 and see how we like it. I typically don't use alot of salt but I think I could have used a little more here so I added some afterwards. That's easy to change for next time. And there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Yummy! I used some small brown potatoes because that's all I had in the house. Used whole milk instead of reduced fat and also boiled potatoes for 10 minutes to speed cooking time after reading someone another review. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I really liked this recipe because you didn't have to start with the butter flour mixture in the saucepan. This was very easy and tasted pretty good too. I used all whole milk and I think it worked out fine. Will make again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Very good! I wanted to serve au gratin potatoes w/ Easter dinner. Not wanting to make my usual recipe (which calls for canned items), I was on the lookout for something w/ a little homemade pizzaz. B/c my ham had to cook at 350 deg. for 2.5 hrs., I needed a recipe that also cooked at the same temp., so I decided to give Ingalyn's recipe a try. The thought of 2 cups of melted cheese on top of my potatoes didn't appeal to me, so I added finely shredded sharp cheddar cheese (fine shreds melt better) to my cream/milk/flour mixture & heated on med-low heat, whisking constantly until melted. I dbl. everything to accommodate the 6 adults & child I was serving (who all wanted seconds!). To speed prep, I used a food processor to thinly slice my potatoes. I then put them in a lg. pot of ice H2O & set in the fridge until I was ready to assemble (just be sure to drain WELL!). I sliced my potatoes quite thin, so I only had to cook them for 40 min. (covered the entire time). I then added an add'l. 1/2 c. of cheese on top (IN ADDITON to the 2 c. add. to my sauce) & broiled on low for at least 3-4 min. to brown & crisp the top. After resting for 10 minutes, my sauce thickened nicely. Other than my fiance commenting that these were too garlicky (he's SOOO picky!), everyone had nothing but positive comments about them. I still like my good 'ol standby recipe (yes, canned items CAN be good!), but I'm glad I gave this a try. It sure impressed everyone! Thanks for sharing, Debbie! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This sounded perfect for my prime rib buffet dinner party. It was a mess. It boiled over which resulted in a burnt smell just as guest were arriving. The potatoes took forever to cook. I'd recommend precooking the potatoes, which also may make the whole mix better tasting. It was like chunks of potatoes with a cheese sauce. I guess I expected a nice smooth sauce with softer potatoe. Overall the flavor was good, but I expected greatness for this party and was very disappointed. Probably just the cook! I'll try it again with my recommendations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ephrata, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States