Steak House Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
UPDATE: I had to come back and upgrade to a 5 after my husband & I (just the 2 of us) darn near ate the entire batch. Highly recommend adding cayenne and probably scaling down garlic to 3 cloves. Regardless, a new favorite - we love. ORIGINAL NOTES: Using a mandoline, I sliced potatoes at apx 1/6". Also added a dash of parsley & cayenne, then proceeded as written. Flavor was outstanding - love the way the garlic came through. Mine were done at exactly 60", and beginning to burn as all the liquid had either burned off or been soaked up. Next time, need to either cut thicker or use a smaller pan (try 9x9). Aside from that, simply outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I made these primarily to use up some heavy cream, judging by my family's reaction I will be making these for special occasions in future. My garlic cloves were huge so I only used 2. Thankyou Ingalyn for a great recipe that my family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
These were very delicious and easy to make. Instead of all the heavy cream, I used 1/4 cup of Half and Half and 1/2 cup of 1% milk. I also used low fat shredded cheese--a colby jack mix. They still tasted very creamy and cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Wonderful! I left the skins on and sliced them, rather than peeling and cubing. So glad I did. I might try extra garlic next time, as they were lacking a tad bit of something. But, they were fantastic and SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Add some onions to the recipe. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Ohio, USA
Living In: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Wonderful. I had never made Au Gratin potatoes before and following the recipe almost exactly (skim milk, eyeballed the cheese to generously cover the top) no one would have guessed. I did use good quality, fresh grated sharp cheddar: I routinely cook with shredded bagged lowfat cheese but in a simple recipe like this, cheese is the star and can make or break the dish. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
These were really great! The garlic added an wonderful flavour and they were just so creamy and tasty. Best of all just throw everything in the pan and bake, couldn't be easier. They did take additional time to bake, and I did slice rather then cube them so I suspect they would take even longer if you used large cubes. Will absolutely be making these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Hubs made dinner for us tonight and these potatoes were part of it. They were excellent. He used a slightly smaller pan than called for and sliced, rather than cubed the potatoes, but beyond that he strictly stuck to the recipe. We both were really impressed and cleaned these up like nobody's business. So much better, in my view, than the au gratin potatoes with the cheese mixed in with the sauce (the very popular "Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes," also from this site, comes to mind). He didn't measure the cheese, just sprinkled it over the top till it looked just right. The cheese melts and forms a delicious crust over the rich, creamy potatoes. The garlic was just enough to add a little flavor dimension and interest. The fact that it wasn't necessary to cook the sauce on the stove-top first was an added bonus. He served these with a perfectly prepared prime rib roast, steamed broccoli and "Brussels Sprouts with Green Peppers," also from this site. It couldn't have been a better dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I loved this recipe it was so easy. It might have been better if I had all the ingredients but all I was missing was the heavy cream and garlic. It was delicious. I stuck it in the oven and almost forgot about it. Served it with steak that was in the crock pot all day. They matched perfectly. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States