Steak House Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I sliced these instead of cutting into pieces. I baked them for about 30 minutes with the foil on, then stirred them gently. They looked a little dry, so I added about 1/2 cup more each of cream and milk. I baked them another 35 minutes and added the cheese. I didn't measure, just sprinkled over until it looked good. I baked about 5 minutes more to melt the cheese. We loved them. They were so creamy and good! I will be making these more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I made these last night for Christmas Eve dinner, they were awesome, cooked perfectly. I did add less garlic, 4 cloves is way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
In case people are looking for a heavy cream substitute, I found this. 3/4 cup milk 1/3 cup butter 1. Melt the butter. 2. Pour it into the milk, and stir. 3. Use in place of one cup of heavy cream. Note: This substitute while not whip. Tip: If you use low-fat milk, add a tablespoon of flour to the mixture to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is a nice easy dish with great flavor. I used red potatoes and they came out creamy and delicious. I added extra cheese – but I always add extra cheese; used 1 1/2 C of light cream, and I baked it an extra 30 minutes because I feel the baking time was inaccurate in the recipe. This is a tasty dish that I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I followed this recipe closely & thought it was very delicious. My kids didn't like it, they thought it was too garlicky. They have a great flavor and I think the name is fitting - they taste like potatoes you would order at a steak hous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
So easy and so good. I didn't have heavy cream so I used all half and half. The garlic was a great touch. I was concerned about no butter in the potatoes but it was not missed. I will make this again for company. I am sure you could tweek this with onion or other veggies as a main dish but good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkmarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I am giving this recipe a 3 purely based on taste...it tasted great! I followed many of the suggestions (used the mandoline and soaked in cold salt water, layered with cheese, added spices, etc), and after 60 minutes it was still undercooked! I used a 9x13 lasagna pan, and felt like I only had enough sauce for 3 layeres (I changed the recipe size to 8, since I got potato happy on the mandolin), and the potatos were curling and wouldn't lay straight. There was definitely too much liquid, even after resting. Can anyone suggest what I may have done wrong? Smaller pan maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Marie Lenio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wabasha, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Great recipe! I actually forgot the flour (which, of course, makes it thick) - so my dish was a little loose - but still good! I will use flour next time! Also, what I did was: salt pepper and paprika the potatoes - and did layers of potatoes, sauce and then cheese (to be sure all was even). Also, when I took the tin foil off, I sprinkled Italian Bread Crumbs on top and let it cook uncovered for another 20 minutes. AWESOME! It's going into our menu rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
UPDATE: I had to come back and upgrade to a 5 after my husband & I (just the 2 of us) darn near ate the entire batch. Highly recommend adding cayenne and probably scaling down garlic to 3 cloves. Regardless, a new favorite - we love. ORIGINAL NOTES: Using a mandoline, I sliced potatoes at apx 1/6". Also added a dash of parsley & cayenne, then proceeded as written. Flavor was outstanding - love the way the garlic came through. Mine were done at exactly 60", and beginning to burn as all the liquid had either burned off or been soaked up. Next time, need to either cut thicker or use a smaller pan (try 9x9). Aside from that, simply outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I made these primarily to use up some heavy cream, judging by my family's reaction I will be making these for special occasions in future. My garlic cloves were huge so I only used 2. Thankyou Ingalyn for a great recipe that my family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States