Steak House Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Absolutely delicious! Great for company. Try adding some bacon bits too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This is a good base recipe - now I just need to get the seasoning right. I used an 8 x 10 casserole dish and sliced four medium-large russet baking potatoes. I had three layers of potatoes with fresh broccoli florets in between. I ended up adding 1 1/2 cups half n half, 1/2 cup heavy cream, and four tablespoons flour, and the consistency of the sauce was perfect. I seasoned the potato layers as another suggested, but it was still a bit bland. Next time I will also add salt and pepper to the sauce mixture. I also added some onion powder and next time I think I will add a little heat, maybe some chipotle powder. I didn't want the cheese to stick to the foil, so once the potatoes were soft, I removed the foil, added the cheese, and baked until the cheese was bubbly. And of course we used sharp cheddar - I never buy anything less than sharp. I would love to try this with some other cheeses as well, maybe add some Manchego. This could easily be customized to pair with the seasonings in your main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I cubed potatoes really small, placed in a 9x13 pan, then microwaved on high for 8 min before doing the rest of the recipe. I mixed most of the cheddar in with the potatoes before microwaving. It was well received! I also used about 50% fat free half and half and 50% skim milk for the milk and cream mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
to dry, not creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I had to cook it longer than written, boil potatoes for 10 minutes and you wont have to cook longer. Great recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This recipe called for way too much garlic, it over powered the dish and it tasted awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
These were pretty good, my family gobbled them up. However, I think I might try increasing the cream sauce next some next time so they will be creamier. Maybe it's because my potatoes were bigger than the recipe, but it only stated 3 russets and not the size so I tried to stay in the medium to medium large size. They did take longer to bake and I cut mine in small cubes. I'm going to take the advice of another reviewer and try boiling them for about 10 minutes before baking to cut down on the time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This is OK! It was creamy, and I took someone else's advise, and boiled my cubed potatoes for 10 minutes. The flavor is lacking, maybe instead of the 2% milk use chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
good but very strong garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States