Steak Fajitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
No one would eat it. Way to limey. Maybe 3 T. lime and some spices to marinate like cumin chilli powder. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I used lemon juice instead of lime juice for the marinade, and I let it marinate for about an hour then cooked it. Everyone that tried it loved it and said that it was the best they have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
The lime overpowers everything. None of my family would take more than a bite or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I bought a strip steak on sale and since I made this before and everyone loved it, I did it again. Here's what I do - 1st pound out steak to tenderize (usually doubles the size) and season with sea salt and fresh ground pepper. Then I whisk together the lime juice and cilantro. I then rub that mixture into the meat and let it marinade in the refrigerator. I then cut the steak in 2 and cook them with the veggies and lemon juice, with a little extra sea salt and pepper. Once the steak is done and is resting, I make sure the veggies cook down and the onion caramelizes. I put a strip of sour cream in the tortilla first, add the steak (now cut on the bias), veggies, cold lettuce, a little taco sauce and cheddar or colby jack shredded cheese. With the leftover steak, I make a steak salad. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akppsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was a good basic recipe. I read everyone's reviews that the recipe was too limey, so I cut the marinade with 2 tblsp of olive oil, then I discarded the marinade, and only cooked the meat. It still came out limey, but when I added everything else, it tasted great! I rolled steak into a tortilla with sour cream, cheese and hot sauce. The lime added a hint of flavor to the meat and it made the meat more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy L
Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. My wife and I have tried this three seperate times and the lime juice is so strong that you can't taste anything but lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ?Carol?
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I did my steak fajitas a bit different, I did not have time to marinate so I skip that, instead I combine the lime juice, cilantro, and black pepper and added a bit of onion and fresh garlic put it in the blender machine to make a sauce. I added a little bit of salt as well then I mixed it with the steak strips, then put it in the refrigerator for 5 min then mixed with Onions, green bell pepper, red pepper, and yellow pepper, I added black pepper and salt. In a hot pan with oil I started to put just the meat, let it cooked then after few minutes put the veggies on top, I added more salt, pepper and red chili pepper to make it a little bit spicy, cover it until is done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ?Carol?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
i added chiles to make it spicy for my husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by virginia capistran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Too much lime. As lime is an acid, it will start to break down the meat. Try making a tomatilla salsa and use that to marinade the meat instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States