Steak Diane Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Not great. I've tried a number of variations of Steak Diane, this was, by far, the least preferred and not a great representation of the dish. If you want to make Steak Diane, keep looking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rordon Gamsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This recipe is good. But for an even better recipe, ditch the chives and the dry mustard. Use Dijon mustard in equal parts of the Worcestershire sauce. Also to make it sweeter, use 1 whole shallot, diced and then add mushrooms; crimi or baby bella. And 2 cloves of garlic minced. Also you can use any type of steak, its not a must to make them thin. I use filet mignon as is or even rib eye. I suggest making the sauce on the side then serve over the steaks. Side dishes fingerling potatoes and asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This recipe is amazing! I don't normally review recipes but i really wanted to let everyone know how great this is. For starters it takes so little time. And I always use the thin sliced breakfast steaks that are super inexpensive. Cheap easy and yummy. Its a weeknight staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
My son decided to surprise myself and my husband for our anniversary by cooking one of our favorite dishes, Steak Diane. Unfortunately, in his search for a recipe, he found this one. While we completely appreciated his effort, this is by far the worst Steak Diane recipe we have ever tasted. Where are the mushrooms, the real butter, the cream, the cognac? Sorry, but this should NOT be called Steak Diane... It was edible, but it was not Steak Diane or anything even close to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This just didn't do anything for me, sorry. I couldn't really taste anything beyond the steak itself and did nothing to improve it. So while there was nothing really wrong with this, I just don't see that it is worth making again. It's possible grilling as one person suggested would work much better. I've never had Steak Diane before so can't really comment on how it compares to other recipes or restaurant version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I used wet mustard: Jack Daniel's Brown Mustard. My wife loved it. I enjoyed the mustard taste, so I used a lot. After cooking it, the flavor wasn't overpowering at all. I cooked it to a medium well. I didn't want it any pinker than it was when I finished. I added a slight twist: 1/4 tsp soy sauce. I think it added the right amount of flavoring that it was missing in it's sauce. So, this wasn't any longer a true "Steak Diane". I still found it very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Hawaii Kai, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Very good flavoring ... be sure not to overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I have never had Steak Diane before so I can't compare it to any other, but I thought this recipe was excellent. I followed the directions as written and both my husband and I were very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
My ex's mother used to make this same recipe with the addition of red wine in the sauce. It cuts the acidity of the lemon juice and compliments the steak nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
My family made this for me for Mother's Day dinner - It was Very Good and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States