State Fair Kettle Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JellyBee
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Oh this is melt in your mouth & satisfy your sweet tooth kind of delicious!! Crisp & fluffy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jawa
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Super easy, followed as is it yields a good sized bowl of crispy, crunchy, and certainly sugary, popcorn. On a scale of 100 I'd give this a 95 but that's still an A. Some recipe notes after trying this several times: • Heating the oil slowly is a big deal. Before you put the kernels in, drop a couple into the oil. Do they pop quickly? If so then your oil is too hot. Reduce the heat and wait about 15 seconds then try again. • If you guessed wrong and they start going off the moment they hit the oil then you'll have to pour the sugar immediately. This will still result in a random mix of over and under coated kernels. Ideally if you bring up the heat slowly waiting until the kernels pop works. • IMHO best way: - Bring oil to low heat. - When test kernel sizzles but doesn't immediately pop add kernels and reserve half of your brown sugar/sugar mix. I also add a little coarse salt. Distribute evenly and stir if necessary. - Add lid and gradually increase heat while gently agitating the mixture. - When first kernels pop, add remaining sugar mix and replace lid. - DO NOT REMOVE THE LID - As the popping increases begin agitating the mix more fervently so the oil/sugar mixture coats all those freshly popped kernels. - The popping dies down. If you've ever popped stove top you know when it's done. - Pull it off the heat and shake it like hell. - Pour into bowls, drizzle of you wish. Serve AFTER its cooled down. It'll seem kind of gooey at first but they crisp after they
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blackvic
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I have made this a couple of times. The first time I added the sugar and popcorn at the same time and it burned. I discovered that if you make the sugar mixture separate from the popcorn it doesn't burn. I use 3 Tablespoons of margarine, 3 Tablespoons Brown sugar and 3 Tablespoons white sugar and 1 teaspoons of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keturah
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Easy, simple and tasty. We might have to make another batch. We sprinkled kosher salt on as it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Awesome. A little tricky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewisburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by birdluv4ever
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I followed the directions and got a oozing blob on the stove. Only about half of the popcorn popped and half of it was stuck in the pan. The taste was really good but not worth the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdluv4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I wish I would have read previous reviews first. It is essential that you add sugar and popcorn at the same time. By following the recipe, my sugar burnt and I had to toss the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Couldn't keep the bowl full. My family loves this. A hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This is a terrific recipe! Tastes just like the State Fair kettle corn. It's a great treat for my daughter's treat day at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States