Starr's Savory Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Out of dry bread crumbs at the moment, I used crushed garlic croutons instead. I made no other changes. GREAT meatballs. Excellent for meatball sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
These were so good. I forgot to put the bread crumbs in. They were still really good, but fell apart when we reheated them. Also made them much smaller
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Fabulous as is!! I did make my meatballs bite size since that is how my family likes them. At that size, I only cooked them 6 minutes and that seemed about right (less or more depending on if you like to see a little red or if you like crispy mearballs). Thanks for a great recipe, my new "go to" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Just Made These Tonight For The First Time And I Have Never Had A Better Meatball....These Are Moist And Full Of Flavor!! Thanks For Sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made these for a Christmas party and they were delicious! I added a half pound of sausage because I had some to use up. These will be my go-to homemade meatball from now on! Thanks Superstarr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
These were great and EASY! I took others' suggestions and made mini meatballs about 1 1/2 inch diameter. They were awesome and baked at 425 for 15 minutes (hot oven). Thanks, Starr, these are ex-L-ent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Starr's Savory Meatballs Haiku: "These were pretty good! Ate them with spaghetti squash. (I made mine smaller.)" I followed the recipe exactly as written, only making my meatballs smaller than indicated in the directions (bout ping-pong ball size.) Tried them right from the oven (tasty, but not mind-blowing - a good, basic meatball), then let them simmer in sauce for a little while b4 serving over a spaghetti squash. The whole family declared them wonderful, so we gotta give props to Starr for her easy meatball recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I thought these were pretty good. I followed the recipe, I just used 93% lean beef and cut the black pepper amount in half. They were a little on the herby side, but I can see them working with a tomato or a beef sauce. They were huge, compared to what I expected. They were about 3" and after cooking were still about 2 1/2" sized meatballs. Mine needed to cook 35 min. be flipped and then have another 20 minutes more. I cut the onion kind of small, worried they wouldn't cook in time, but with the extra minutes that helped. They were good with best marinara sauce yet. I plan to try them with a gravy to. 2 are filling to me, especially if eaten with something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Good meatballs; used for subs. I felt the portions were HUGE, double my typical portion anyhow, so I ended up freezing half. I had even halved the recipe! I think you could get 8 servings if served in sandwiches or over spaghetti out of 2 lbs of ground meat. I used ground turkey and added more Worcestershire b/c I think it helps 'beef' up the flavor when using ground turkey in recipes calling for beef (I find it makes turkey less noticeable to the usual beef-eaters). I made the meatballs a bit smaller than directed, and they were perfectly cooked after 15 minutes. Good balance of the onion, garlic and spices. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Followed recipe exactly,was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Gap, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States