Starlight Mint Surprise Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This cookie recipe was a winner in the first Pillsbury Cook-Off in 1949. My mother adopted the recipe for the Christmas Party's since that year. Starlight mints were used and walnut halves where placed on top of the cookie before baking. I have also used colored sugar for holidays. My sons and grandchildren all this cookie today and when brother and sons were in the service this cookie traveled good over sea. This cookie is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muchkin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I LOVE READING THE REVIEWS ON SOMETHING THAT I HAVE NEVER TRIED SO THIS WAS ADDED TO RECIPE BOX WITHOUT GIVING IT A SECOND THOUGHT ABOUT KEEPING BECAUSE OF THE POSITIVE REVIEWS RE TASTE AND MEMORIES. HOWEVER... :) IS IT LIGHT OR DARK BROWN SUGAR???? SO MANY RECIPES DO NOT SPECIFY. I AM GIVING THIS 5 STARS JUST BECAUSE WHAT OTHERS HAVE SAID AND IN MY ANTICIPATION OF BAKING THESE COOKIES; I WOULD NOT WANT TO RUIN THE 5 STAR RATING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
We have had these cookies for Christmas as long as I can remember. They stopped making the original mint wafers but have found the chocolate mint UFO's at Trader Joe's to be almost exactly like the originals. Family fave. If you like mint these are perfect for you! Question - why is dough so sticky even after refrigerating for several hours?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Have made these for many years. Wilton's chocolate melts (mint flavor) work just as well as the original discontinued kind. Andes are too messy. I top with a pecan half. This is originally a Pillsbury cookie recipe. No extra tsp. of dough on top...just flatten a tsp. of dough in the palm of your hand, add the mint and bring sides up & over to cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
My grandmother and mother both made these, years and years ago. I just found her recipe in the old recipe box and cannot wait to make these for a cookie exchange next week. The recipes are exactly alike. Another memory to cherish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I have been making these cookies for several years now. They become a favorite for everyone who tries them and the last cookies on the tray are always argued over! I used Andes Candies in this recipe. They're really exceptional. One note - please store these cookies seperately from others you have prepared until they are ready to be served. Other cookies can pick up a slightly minty flavor from being close to them for too long. I know there aren't many reviews for this recipe, but please take a chance on them - you won't be sorry! (Oh - and I've never come out with anywhere near 100 cookies from this recipe - probably closer to 3-4 dozen depending on size.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I was sooo happy when I found this recipe. it's an oldie and I couldn't find my recipe. These are delicious and kids love them (they may pick off the walnuts though!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
yummy cookies. Always a staple at our house during the Holidays. I make this recipe extra special by melting extra Andes mints and drizzle on the cooled cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Just a couple of tips If you make this cookie recipe ~ use parchment paper cause it's a job and a half to get the baked on mint off the cookie pan! I learned that the first time I made them. (I use bags of Thin Mints) Also, once you have the mint covered by the cookie dough, roll it in your hand like you would if you were making a meatball to get all the creases out of the dough. Then carefully flatten it a bit making sure that you can't see even a hint of the brown of the chocolate. If you aren't careful of these things, you will have leaks and the cookies won't come out very good. Note: You can put quite a few of these cookies onto the same cookie pan because they don't spread out like a chocolate chip cookie does. While two pans of cookies are baking, I put the bowl with the dough in the frig because it gets sticky if it's warm. As you bake each cookie pan full, and you sample one when done, you will learn if you're putting too much dough into each cookie! :~) If you roll the cookie with the mint in it as I suggest above you can see that the mint is well covered and you really do only need just a bit of dough as the instructions say. Otherwise, using too much dough, the taste of the mint and chocolate are less noticeable. (My version of this recipe doesn't use the sugar) These cookies are a bit labor intensive to make sure you have no leaks and because I leave the dough in the frig while each batch is baking. It's my experience that guys really LOVE these cookies! ;~D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Mom used to make these and I also lost the recipe. So good to find it! Some family members don't like mint so she made a batch for them with Hershey Kisses--Just as good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States