Starlight Mint Surprise Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I have been making these cookies for several years now. They become a favorite for everyone who tries them and the last cookies on the tray are always argued over! I used Andes Candies in this recipe. They're really exceptional. One note - please store these cookies seperately from others you have prepared until they are ready to be served. Other cookies can pick up a slightly minty flavor from being close to them for too long. I know there aren't many reviews for this recipe, but please take a chance on them - you won't be sorry! (Oh - and I've never come out with anywhere near 100 cookies from this recipe - probably closer to 3-4 dozen depending on size.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
this is one of my favorite all time recipes. u will notice that i left out the nuts as my these were made especially for my youngest daughter and she is not that fond of nuts. so to give these a nicer presentation i opted to bake them in a cup in a mini muffin pan and push the mints, broken in half down in the center of the cookies while still very warm! everyone who got them went nuts for them!! this recipe is also a hit in my book for several additional reasons- it is a great recipe for making ahead (weeks at least that i know of) and baking later, for baking, storing (again at least 3 weeks) and making trays later, this one recipe with just a 1/2 c cocoa powder added and peanut butter cups in place of the mints is another of my regulars for holiday trays,and the cookies are great for packing and shipping!! i'll be passing this down to my children with 5 stars!!! 12/13 also u can also in a blender of food proccesor put 3/4 cup chips any flavor (chocolate is my fav) and process into fine bits, mix in, chill for 2 hr, shape dough into 1" balls roll in flaked coconut and bake at 375 for 8-10 min till set and edges begin to brown for chocolate cocnut chews and last but not least, chill dough make 1" balls and roll half in colored sugar then bake and they are festive crackle cookies!! love this recipe!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
These were a big hit at our Christmas gathering. The Andes mints were perfect for the middle. I would definitly make them again for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I was sooo happy when I found this recipe. it's an oldie and I couldn't find my recipe. These are delicious and kids love them (they may pick off the walnuts though!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This cookie recipe was a winner in the first Pillsbury Cook-Off in 1949. My mother adopted the recipe for the Christmas Party's since that year. Starlight mints were used and walnut halves where placed on top of the cookie before baking. I have also used colored sugar for holidays. My sons and grandchildren all this cookie today and when brother and sons were in the service this cookie traveled good over sea. This cookie is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muchkin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
We have had these cookies for Christmas as long as I can remember. They stopped making the original mint wafers but have found the chocolate mint UFO's at Trader Joe's to be almost exactly like the originals. Family fave. If you like mint these are perfect for you! Question - why is dough so sticky even after refrigerating for several hours?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I've been looking for this recipe for many years. My mother made it in the 50's. Thanks, Robin. Now I can pass it on to my grandchildren. It's just as I remembered it...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I LOVE READING THE REVIEWS ON SOMETHING THAT I HAVE NEVER TRIED SO THIS WAS ADDED TO RECIPE BOX WITHOUT GIVING IT A SECOND THOUGHT ABOUT KEEPING BECAUSE OF THE POSITIVE REVIEWS RE TASTE AND MEMORIES. HOWEVER... :) IS IT LIGHT OR DARK BROWN SUGAR???? SO MANY RECIPES DO NOT SPECIFY. I AM GIVING THIS 5 STARS JUST BECAUSE WHAT OTHERS HAVE SAID AND IN MY ANTICIPATION OF BAKING THESE COOKIES; I WOULD NOT WANT TO RUIN THE 5 STAR RATING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
yummy cookies. Always a staple at our house during the Holidays. I make this recipe extra special by melting extra Andes mints and drizzle on the cooled cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
My grandmother and mother both made these, years and years ago. I just found her recipe in the old recipe box and cannot wait to make these for a cookie exchange next week. The recipes are exactly alike. Another memory to cherish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States