Starkey's Mashed Potato Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This is a great recipe. I use to get something similar at a nearby pizza place when I was in college. I add green onions to mine for extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
OMG! My friend made this last night (we did appetizers for the game) and it was awesome. Everyone loved it and so easy to make! As we watched her make it (thinking she was insane) the only suggestion she had, was to buy the pizza dough from the pizzeria, as it taste better then store bought. She even makes this as a regular dinner, as her husband and kids (6 & 4) love it! And I can see why!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
It was ok but not great. I was hoping it would have tasted like the Pierogi Pizza I used to get at home but it was lacking something. I added browned onions on top but still needed something. I will try again after I get a recipe for the filling for Pierogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I expected to love this, but really didn't. I expected to need a bit more seasoning than I would usually put in mashed potatoes, and added it. But the taste was still somehow way too bland for us. I tried adding some corn & spinach to the second batch (like I said, we had expected to love it), but it didn't help either. I think I would have to put on some type of savory white sauce under the potato layer, or pour something over the top to give it some kind of spark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I make this but I use Ragu parmesan & mozzerella sauce before putting the potatoes on the crust. It is good, the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I used to make a similar one for son when he was smaller. I have used sweet potato too and added crumbled sausage to it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
this was good. definitely not something to die for. maybe a white sauce wouldve added more flavor like some people are saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I used a Boboli crust, brushed it with olive oil and spinkled a little garlic powder on it. I topped this with regular mashed potatoes. Sauted some onion and added that with the bacon. I used Monteray Jack cheese on top. I used a pizza stone that had already heated and broiled it for about 7 minutes. I thought it was okay, but my SO loved it. Next time I would not use the olive oil - it made the potatoes hard to spread over the crust. Also, I'd use a little more cheese. Will probably make again at my SO's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This pizza is a veritable "starch-a-palooza!" I didn't use all the potato called for (about half), and just had to have my tomato sauce (I choose a sweeter variety with red pepper and mushroom). I mixed it into the potatoes and it did look a little funny (like Playdough), but tasted great once I added the toppings. Used Jalapeno Monterey Jack cheese and skipped the bacon, opting for chopped olives, peppers, mushroom and red onion toppings instead. Next time I'll skip the tomato (maybe use it sundried, as a topping, however), and mix some creamed spinach into the potatoes. Our neighborhood Bertucci's pizza place sells their dough but it doesn't come out quite the same. That probably has to do with the heat capabilities of my oven vs. a commercial, wood fired one. I cut a nice, gluteney sourdough bouille in half, trimmed the bottom to make the sides flat, and brushed the top and bottom with olive oil and broiled lightly in the oven; just until slightly browned; then added the toppings as directed and reheated until cheese was melty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was sooooo good!!! I used the Quick and Easy Pizza Crust recipe from this site and cooked the pizza on our grill outside rather than in the oven. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States