Standing Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was really an excellent recipe! It turned out perfect, so tender, and tasty.What a suprise to have this turn out so good. I was worried that it would be tough and overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Wow! There must be a million different opinions on how to perfectly roast a prime rib. All methods aside, I suppose the most important thing to remember is to keep an eye on the temperature. This recipe was an excellent one for my first standing rib roast. I really wanted it to be perfect as a) it was a family dinner and noone likes a dried out, bummer roast and b) they are really expensive! this recipe was delicious! The only change I made was to coat the roast with olive oil to help the rub stick. Also, it roasted the prime rib at 425 for 30 minutes and then decreased to 325 for 13 minutes per lb (my roast was 6 lbs) After the first hour I added potatoes, carrots, onions and full cloves of garlic which were soooooooo yummy as a side. After resting, the roast yielded perfect amounts of all degrees of doneness for my family including rare to medium well. Definitely a great recipe to make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I didn't follow the recipe faithfully but the idea & methodology are right there. This is how I will handle every rib roast from now on. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was really good! I did overcook it but that was totally my fault- I had a small roast and still cooked for nearly an hour the first part of cooking. However, it was still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
*THE BEST*! I left out the cayenne pepper totally. Used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I did the 30 minutes at 425 f and 20 minutes at 325 f per pound without a meat thermometer and it turned out PERFECT! Had very little fat or juices in the roasting pan with using the 425 degrees for 30 minutes first. (I prefer using a meat thermometer. Mine was not working anymore. Now replaced). I will skipped the water and beef bullion next time. We didnt care for this gravey but the roast recipe itself was thee best we've ever ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
It Was Ok, But there Are Issues. Some Water, Stock, Wine Or A Combination Should Be Added To The Pan To Keep The Drippings From Burning. Some Oil On The Out Side Would Help Retain Moisture. Maybe Sear The Outside Before Putting It Into The Oven. The Correct Temps Are. Extra-rare or Blue (bleu) very red and cold 46–49 °C 115–120 °F, Rare (saignant) cold red center; soft 52–55 °C 125–130 °F, Medium rare (à point) warm red center; firmer 55–60 °C 130–140 °F, Medium (demi-anglais) pink and firm 60–65 °C 140–150 °F, Medium well (cuit) small amount of pink in the center 65–69 °C 150–155 °F, Well done (bien cuit) gray-brown throughout; firm 71-100 °C 160-212 °F
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Kevin
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
The directios worked out perfectly for my wife's liking. She likes her rib roast medium. I would prefer a medium rare but like they say, "A happy wife is a happy life." The minute I took the roast out of the oven I knew and it was going to be amazing. It smelled spectacular and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Excellent! The only thing I did differently was add more cayenne pepper, the dipping juice was perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I loved this recipe very good flavor, I am going to try this as a steak rub !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I liked the taste of the rub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States