Standard Greek Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Everyone enjoyed this simple yet refreshing salad. I used pitted, black kalamata olives and sprinkled about a teaspoon of dried oregano in before tossing. Will make this often this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Loved this recipe. I only used 3 cucumbers and two tomatoes (because of the sheer volume of the salad) but otherwise this recipe was spot on! I cant wait to have some as leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinamarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was good. I made this salad for lunch so I didn't use the amount of ingredients called for, but I did follow the recipe exactly. I think I will make this again for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
It's expensive, but I doubled the feta cheese volume. I'm glad I did. It's awesome to get some cheese in nearly every bite. I also doubled the olives and may add more next time. I chose the sweet route, adding about 75 drops of sweetener to the mixture, but I may try it the classic way next time. GREAT recipe. We love it. FOLLOW UP NOTE: I prepared this the classic way the next time, following the recipe exactly, and my wife liked it better that way; I prefer the sweet version. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Fast & easy summer salad with tons of flavor. I always add about 1 Tablespoon of capers for a nice flavor contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I changed the dressing a bit. I made my sweet-and-sour greek dressing to top the salad and it was much better. I mix about 4 parts red wine vinegar to 2 parts beet juice to 1 part white sugar. Then, I mash the feta cheese into the mixture, making sure the sugar is fully dissolved (this can be made more tart by adding more vinegar to taste or more mellow by adding more beet juice to taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
deliscious, give it a try you wont be dissapointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shortstuff2u_21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
My son says letting it marinate, and adding some dill & it would be a "5"! Nice, easy, quick, and flavorful summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I made this salad this morning with organic produce I picked up from Bountiful Baskets. I made exactly as directed except for the olives then let it sit in the fridge to marinate. It does need some salt and pepper and maybe a little oregano. With just the wine vinegar it is a little flat. I think that the feta and the olives should give it a little salt, but I omitted the olives (was all out) and my feta just wasn't salty. Really light and refreshing and a great warm weather treat! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by Roger
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Quick and easy. Just a few more olives, feta and red wine vinegar makes this even better. Next time I may use whole olives sliced in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger
Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States