Stained Glass Window Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Like others, I increased the sugar and vanilla and decreased the milk. The dough was still very sticky, so I ended up using about twice the amount of flour. They are easier to cut out when thick and less likely to break but they took 9-10 minutes to bake. For the centers of the heart shape I used leftover strawberry candy canes. I didn't bother to crush them, just broke them into small enough pieces to fit in the centers. They looked great with red "zebra stripes" in the middle from the candy canes and red sugar sprinkles around the outside. Around Christmas you could use peppermint candy canes and mint flavoring and green food coloring for the dough to make them more festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irelandwhispers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Read rewiew on how the dough wasn't to flavorful so decided to make sugar cookie dough. The first batch was hard to get the timing right burned a few.) (daugther loved them anyway) After that worked like a charm. Found that only had to leave them cook for 11 min.(depending on oven an thickness of cookie) Came out beautifuly. Everyone was impressed. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Ruined my cookie pan which had to thrown away. I could only get 3 cookies barely off the pan and that is with one bloody finger from trying to get it off. Followed the reciepe to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I didn't bother crushing the candy, and they still turned out great! I ended up with a HUGE batch of cookies. I made them at school and I used as much I could and still ended up throwing tons away. But still, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
These are fun to make but aren't very tasty because of the amount of flour required to keep the dou The dough is gh from being so stickyvery sticky. Next time, I'll make sure the dough is refrigerated for 30 minutes before working with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBetty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
They looked pretty, but when people tried them, once they got to the candy part, they didn't like it very much. I used life savers, and even after just 6 minutes, the candies got a burnt taste to them and sometimes started turning black. If I try it again, I may use a different candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
These were fun and easy to make. I did increase the sugar and decrease the milk as suggested in an earlier review. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This is a great recipe for kids around the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Looked pretty, not so good to eat. VERY sweet because of the candy and because it has been heated and then rehardened, it sticks in one's teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This recipe turned out great. I followed the reviews and reduced the milk and added extra sugar. I also did not crush the candy. I used a large cookie cutter and then made a small cut out in each cookie. I put one lifesaver in each candy and it worked great. I really like the idea of usind cooking spray to grease the pan. It worked like a charm. The cookies are a little bland but I made up another batch (without the candy) and iced them and they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States