Stained Glass Window Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I didn't care for these - the cookie itself was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Strwbrrykizzes
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
These are amazing! They are so beautiful, what a cute cookie to give out for the holidays (which is what I'm doing!) The only problem I had was the candy sticking to the wax paper, but I got it off by wetting it and it peeled right off. Next time I think I'll use the silicone baking mat, nothing seems to stick to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PeaceLoveJoy
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I went a little heavy on the sugar, a little light on the milk, had to add tons of flour while rolling them out, but I always have to do that with sugar cookies for some reason. They turned out great! I used cookie cutters to get my shapes in them, and Jolly Ranchers as the insides. I wish I would've made my "windows" larger, but the recipe is fine, and I will definately use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeaceLoveJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I read all the reviews and reduced the milk, increased the sugar, and still had a lot of trouble rolling out the soft dough. I would just use a regular sugar cookie next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I don't know what I did wrong, but when the candy melted, it seeped underneath the sugar cookie, and bubbled up. The center cutout shrunk and the shape deformed. I was trying to make them heartshaped, and the center heart ended up looking like a blob instead. I followed the directions exactly!! And I ended up throwig an entire batch of cookies away. So I'm sorry for giving a bad review and sounding bitter, but this was just awful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyArndt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by meechan
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Since according to most reviewers the dough from the original recipe is very soft, I omitted the milk completely and used 2 tbs milk powder instead, rolled the dough into 1/4 inch between two plastic sheets, put in the freezer, cut into shapes, and while the dough is still stiff, lift them and put into pan. For the blandness of the taste, try using high quality European butter (ex. H.J. Wijsman and Zonen, Preserved Dutch Butter) or add flavoring to the dough. I didn't increase the sugar because I think the original recipe is already sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meechan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Great recipe! I used ready-to-go sugar cookie dough from the supermarket, and clear candies, as I was making a "window" for a Toy Story birthday cake! It came out perfectly!! Awesome concept!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sparmeland
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I really had fun making and "taste-testing" this recipe. I have made them as easter gifts for the kids in my family. Instead of forming hearts as suggested in the recipe, I used cookie cutters and made a very large heart and took out a window using a cross cookie cutter and made the cross the stained glass window for an Easter cookie. I followed the suggestions to increase the sugar to 1 and 1/4 cup, the vanilla to 1 teaspoon and cut the milk to 3 TBS. Insteas of foil I use parchment paper and it worked really well. I thought the cookies were pretty and tasty. Using the cookie cutter was tricky so I understand why the recipe has you make strips. If you do choose to use a cookie cutter, I suggest rolling is out on parchment paper removing the excessing and just transferring it directly to the cookie sheet. The parchment paper also helped make the cookies come off the sheet really easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Like others, I increased the sugar and vanilla and decreased the milk. The dough was still very sticky, so I ended up using about twice the amount of flour. They are easier to cut out when thick and less likely to break but they took 9-10 minutes to bake. For the centers of the heart shape I used leftover strawberry candy canes. I didn't bother to crush them, just broke them into small enough pieces to fit in the centers. They looked great with red "zebra stripes" in the middle from the candy canes and red sugar sprinkles around the outside. Around Christmas you could use peppermint candy canes and mint flavoring and green food coloring for the dough to make them more festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irelandwhispers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Read rewiew on how the dough wasn't to flavorful so decided to make sugar cookie dough. The first batch was hard to get the timing right burned a few.) (daugther loved them anyway) After that worked like a charm. Found that only had to leave them cook for 11 min.(depending on oven an thickness of cookie) Came out beautifuly. Everyone was impressed. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States