Stained Glass Window Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
I was really disappointed... The dough was too soft, and the "cutting and pasting" was a pain. Then, they don't taste good at all! Although my kids *loved* making them, not one out of three will eat a second one...:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
This recipe was a big disappointment. The cookies did not taste good at all and they weren't even particularly pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
try using hard cinamon candy instead! makes a very nice twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
Our "Valentine Window" cookies turned out beautifully! We used a 4" heart with a smaller 1-1/2" heart cut out for the window. Rather than crushing the candy we used full size watermelon/cherry jolly ranchers. My boys had lots of fun unwrapping the candy and putting it in the windows then watching it melt in the oven. I added about 1/4 to 1/2 cup extra flour to stiffen up dough enough to make it easy to roll. Next time I try this recipe I think I'll refrigerate the dough and skip the extra flour as the cookies were somewhat bland by my standards. However, my kids and husband like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
I used this recipe with stars at Christmas...I found that using the lifesavers-R five flavors works better than the black cherry rolls...also I used aluminum foil on my baking sheets. This kept mess to a minimum, and made it easy to transfer cookies off the sheet so I could use the sheet for the next batch. They peel off the aluminum very easily when they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
After reading the other reviews, I decided to make these cookies, but keeping in mind that some people found the dough sticky and a bit bland, I increased the sugar by about 1/4 cup, cut the milk down to about half the suggested amount, and increased the vanilla to about 1 teaspoon. I added the last cup of flour at the end and then used lots of flour on my rolling surface to stop them from being too sticky. They turned out great, and my kids loved them! I did large star shapes with smaller star cut outs in the middle, and found I needed 2 Jolly Ranchers to have the "windows" look really full. Try using 2 different colours of candy in one cookie--it's a great effect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Cookies were good but they stuck fast to the cookie sheet and broke when trying to get them off. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
My mother and I loved making these cookies! We took the advice from the reviewer who recommended increasing the sugar to 1 and 1/4 cup, cutting the milk down to about 3 Tablespoons, and boosting the vanilla to 1 teaspoon. Make sure you use lots of flour while rolling out. Keep the dough chilled. There is no need to break the candy up, unless you want to combine colors; we found that both lifesavers and jolly rancher candies melted completely just as they are. DO use aluminum foil instead of putting the cookies directly in the cookie sheet. DO spray Pam on the foil. The cookies will come off the foil easily once they are cooled. And you can re-use that foil, too, for a second round. Finally, we increased our baking time to about 10 minutes. At 6 minutes, the dough was not quite done to our taste. A truly beautiful (and tastey) result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This recipe turned out great. I followed the reviews and reduced the milk and added extra sugar. I also did not crush the candy. I used a large cookie cutter and then made a small cut out in each cookie. I put one lifesaver in each candy and it worked great. I really like the idea of usind cooking spray to grease the pan. It worked like a charm. The cookies are a little bland but I made up another batch (without the candy) and iced them and they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Looked pretty, not so good to eat. VERY sweet because of the candy and because it has been heated and then rehardened, it sticks in one's teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States