Stained Glass Window Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Susan Henry
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
These cookies taste good, but the dough needs to be refrigerated and the cookies removed from the sheet more promptly. My first batch stuck & crumpled so badly, only the first cookie made it off in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Henry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Another great option for the candy is to use the old fashioned Christmas candies, they all have a different taste. They are not all clear but all the different colors and tastes make a plain bland white cookie Christmas magic. These are one of my favourite Christmas cookies. I have NEVER had these made with Christmas candies except at my house. Less milk a little more flour worked great! I have spelled favourite the Canadian way.;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Batchelor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
5 stars with adjustments by reviewers - especially tin foil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
These are truly visually beautiful cookies, I made a batch this past Christmas using a Christmas tree cookie cutter and multicolored Jolly Rancher candies, and gave half to my Dad and half to my boyfriend's best friend. They got scarfed down right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
There are a few keys to make this a successful cookie: 1. Follow the others advise about increasing the vanilla to a tsp and cutting the milk to 3 tsp. 2. Make sure you have flour or confectioner's sugar to roll out the dough. 3. Use wax paper to cover the baking surface and use non stick spray!! 4. Make sure that your cookie to window ratio is more cookie. These cookies do expand so keep that in mind as well. When you find your groove, these are really yummy cookies and worth the trial and error!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Cookies didn't turn out for me, I had to add way to much flour and they tasted like a cracker in the end. Could be me, try them yourself if you want or take my review to heart. Nice idea, my kids loved the candy cracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reikari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
The final product was OK, but the dough was very difficult to work with. I did increase the sugar to 1 1/4 c. and used 1 tsp. vanilla. Even after refrigerating the dough overnight, it was still very sticky and hard to work with. I had to add a LOT of extra flour to keep it from sticking to the counter. Very frustrating. I baked the cookies for 8 minutes. For me, the end result is just not worth the hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
if i could put zero stars on this i would . they came out terrible they were going to be a christmas gift but the cookie part wasn't the right kind to have candy in the middle! they stuck to the pan and i spent two hours scraping it off cookie sheets will never make agian!!!!!;(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Meh.. I added extra sugar and decreased the milk in the dough, and I still found it to be bland. I probably won't make these again, except maybe for children. They look prettier than they taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This recipe is absolutely unusable unless you increase the flour quantity by another 75%. It is more of a sloppy semi-batter consistency than a dough that can be rolled. Even after adding all that flour the cookies are tough, bland and not worth the time, ingredients and electricity. There are much better recipes around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States