Stained Glass Window Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
did not work.. too sticky threw out dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These were really cool! My sister and I had fun making them. We added more sugar & flour both - more flour because we used a lot of food colouring. We also used less milk (about 3 tbsp total). Used jolly ranchers and found that the holes couldn't be too small or else it doesn't work!!! Make sure they're about an inch in diameter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Absolutely one of the worst tasting cookies ever! A pain the neck to make (separating the hard candies, then crushing them took time). What I disliked most, however, was the dry, bland cookie dough and then the hard center. This Stained Glass Windows recipe deserves to be hit by a rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I was very confused with this cookie. I layed out the strips and put the candy in. When I took them out the strips were puffy and you could hardly see the candy. Also very doughy. I ended up rolling them into balls with the candy in the middle. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RangerZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is not the best cookie dough recipe for this sort of cookie. The dough is way sticky and even after chilling it for a long time and working in more flour, they still spread out way too much when baking. Six minutes is not nearly enough to cook the cookies all the way through. I baked for 8-9 minutes and they still came out very soft. If you're trying to fill shapes with the candy, definitely crush the candy and fill the enclosure all the way to the edges. Whole Jolly Ranchers just sank into the cookies while baking and didn't spread at all. I found a great stained glass cookie recipe a few years ago and couldn't find it, so I decided to try this one. I'm going to look some more to find the original again since it made sturdier, prettier cookies. The only reason I'm giving this a 3 star instead of a 2 is that they taste fine and we'll eat them - they're just very much not what you'd expect from a stained glass cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
dough much too sticky to roll out into a strip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I followed the others reviewers recommendations with 1.25 c sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, and 3 tbsp milk, and the dough tasted good. I chilled and rolled out on parchment paper and didn't need any extra flour when rolling out. Also baked on parchment paper, no cooking spray needed and no sticking. I made a variety of sizes and used several kinds of candies we had around the house. I think 1" holes with one candy are the best combo for eating. I found with too much candy in the center, the cookies stuck to my teeth when warm and then were too hard to chew when cool. With bigger centers, one candy wasn't enough to fill it and 2 was too much candy for comfortable eating. Some brands of candy didn't melt well and needed to be broken up before putting in oven, but some brands melted great and made beautful centers with no breaking. It took me 2 experimental batches to figure out a happy combo that was pretty, edible and properly melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
These are really good. My kids just love the jolly rancher inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Amazing! Tried it with my friends! Wow! i loved them. We had to make more and more batches. supply and demand, my friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I used cookie cutters and used lifesavers. I will add more flavor to the dough next time. I really love the crunch of the cookie. Thanks for this recipe. I will be making these with my granddaughters. Irene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roaring Spring, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States