Stained Glass Window Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
5 stars with adjustments by reviewers - especially tin foil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
These are truly visually beautiful cookies, I made a batch this past Christmas using a Christmas tree cookie cutter and multicolored Jolly Rancher candies, and gave half to my Dad and half to my boyfriend's best friend. They got scarfed down right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
There are a few keys to make this a successful cookie: 1. Follow the others advise about increasing the vanilla to a tsp and cutting the milk to 3 tsp. 2. Make sure you have flour or confectioner's sugar to roll out the dough. 3. Use wax paper to cover the baking surface and use non stick spray!! 4. Make sure that your cookie to window ratio is more cookie. These cookies do expand so keep that in mind as well. When you find your groove, these are really yummy cookies and worth the trial and error!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Cookies didn't turn out for me, I had to add way to much flour and they tasted like a cracker in the end. Could be me, try them yourself if you want or take my review to heart. Nice idea, my kids loved the candy cracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reikari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
The final product was OK, but the dough was very difficult to work with. I did increase the sugar to 1 1/4 c. and used 1 tsp. vanilla. Even after refrigerating the dough overnight, it was still very sticky and hard to work with. I had to add a LOT of extra flour to keep it from sticking to the counter. Very frustrating. I baked the cookies for 8 minutes. For me, the end result is just not worth the hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
if i could put zero stars on this i would . they came out terrible they were going to be a christmas gift but the cookie part wasn't the right kind to have candy in the middle! they stuck to the pan and i spent two hours scraping it off cookie sheets will never make agian!!!!!;(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Meh.. I added extra sugar and decreased the milk in the dough, and I still found it to be bland. I probably won't make these again, except maybe for children. They look prettier than they taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This recipe is absolutely unusable unless you increase the flour quantity by another 75%. It is more of a sloppy semi-batter consistency than a dough that can be rolled. Even after adding all that flour the cookies are tough, bland and not worth the time, ingredients and electricity. There are much better recipes around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Growing up, I LOVED these cookies. I was waiting for my mom's recipe but decided to try this one out. This recipe, I apologize, was not good. :( My "dough" turned into batter. And, the batter tasted like chalk. Needless to say, I threw it out after attempting to use the batter-like mix for cookies. Needless to say, I was highly upset and disappointed as I gathered all the called for ingredients and followed it step-by-step. I'm going to use my moms recipe this time around and see what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeebleSue
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I have no idea how the other cooks got their cookies to come out. These were very unsuccessful. I would never make them again. These were A LOT of work for very little return. It was near impossible to find a small roll of Life Savers for one. Crushing the cookies might be fun for kids but it was a pain for me. It created quite a mess. The candy part stuck to the pan, no matter what I did. I used parchment paper, wax paper, butter, shortening.. I tried everything. I got a few cookies to come out (see rack photo) but most of them ended up crushed pieces (see plastic bowl pic). The cookie part was very bland and had no flavor. The candy part ended up gummy. On a good note (the one star that i can give) is that my dogs LOVED the busted up pieces. I'll never make these again, ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeebleSue

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States