Stained Glass Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I just made cookies like (I used my usual cut-out recipe) this and it took till the 5th tray to get them off the pan. I used tin foil covered with nonstick spray. After I had the cookie on the pan, I covered the "opening" with more spray before filling with a whole Jolly Rancher (works better than lifesavers). After baking just till the candy melts, slide the whole sheet of tin foil off the pan and let the cookies cool completely. Turn the cookies upside down and peel off the foil. This is what finally worked for us. The results are beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
cookies taste fine but how about including a reminder to grease the cookie sheet for those of us that dont bake except on holidays. these cookies are stuck permanently to my nonstick sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
These cookies are fabulous! I made them to take to my neighborhood cookie exchange and won first prize! I had made similar cookies about ten years ago, so was thrilled to "rediscover" the recipe. Instead of rolling dough into ropes, I used a large house cookie cutter and cut out smaller shapes inside. I also used Lifesavers instead of sourballs. Some of the houses resembles churches, some were schoolhouses, etc. The effect was truly charming. I would recommend this recipe to anyone, as they are not particularly difficult to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I love how this handles. I used regular Christmas cookie cutters and life savers. Parchment paper is the best invention for cookies. I used one piece for the entire batch of cookies. I think the next time I will up the measurement for the spices from 1/4 to 1/2 tesp. I could hardly taste the spices in he cookies. I also uped the oven temp. from 350 to 375 and baked the cookies for 7 minutes for a crispier cookie, my husband really loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roaring Spring, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Very strong molasses flavor in dough. Use finely crushed candy, big chunks bubble. Keep ropes of dough very thin or cookie will be soft and break apart. Fun to do as a group activity, not individually unless you are very patient!! (Unless you halve recipe). Neat concept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This is not the original "Land O" Lakes" recipe I had 20 yrs ago, that one didn't contain molasses. But it WORKS- the cookies are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Wow. I don't know what I did wrong, but the batter had the consistency of soup when it finished chilling. I ended up putting in extra flour and just making ginger cookies. They turned out great, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I loved the stain glass look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Quite good! I used honey instead of molasses. You could kind of taste the honey, but it didn't overpower at all and you could taste the spices quite well. I used jolly ranchers which seemed to work pretty well. I will definitely make these again, but next time I will roll the dough and cut them instead of rolling ropes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States