Stained Glass Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
It's never too soon to start planning for Christmas! Added more spice. 1/4 teaspoon is not enough, so I used 1/2 teaspoon of each spice. Added a little more flour, too. Used Fire Jolly Ranchers for the filling. (One for each cookie.) Used two cookie cutters for precision and uniformity. Baked these for 10-12 minutes on parchment paper for easy removal from the cookie sheet. When cooled completely removed them from the parchment. Very happy with the results. Taste was good, and the appearance... charming! Nice addition to a Christmas Cookie Platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by cineaste
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I made these and have to add 3 comments for those who want to try them: (1) tracing a cut-out with a roll/rope of dough is hard. And unless you have the little cookie cutters as well as the big ones (which are pictured in some versions but I've not found in stores), these are a huge amount of work & require steady hands & gift of art; (2) don't underestimate what it takes to crush the candies. If you have a strong food processor or a better blender than I do, it may work. But they are strong & messy. They break thorough all bags I tried to put them in for mallot crushing - freezer bags, cereal box liners, etc. - and make a big mess & still don't get crushed evenly, no matter what you use. I tried also using "Nerds" which are always pretty small, separating them by color, etc. But they didn't dry hard & stuck to everything & were not as transparent as Jolly Ranchers. (3) On the whole, this recipe is tedious & only for artistic people. I had to use more flour to keep dough from sticking & then they didn't look good. They took me 3 hours one day & 5 hours the next. Although I'm artistically inclined & do a lot of intricate work around the house (including "handyman" jobs and jewelry repair), mine did not turn out as pictured... were much messier & less attractive. Anyway, not to put a damper on this, but I wish I had been warned before I went to all the trouble. :-) Still: they WERE INTERESTING, a conversation-starter & tasted pretty good... but not fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Quite good! I used honey instead of molasses. You could kind of taste the honey, but it didn't overpower at all and you could taste the spices quite well. I used jolly ranchers which seemed to work pretty well. I will definitely make these again, but next time I will roll the dough and cut them instead of rolling ropes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
It's a great recipe for rolled gingerbread cookies! As cute as the stained glass cookies came out, I didn't care for them. The candy is sort of hard, sort of chewy and very contrasty to the cookie dough. I also didn't like the strong molasses flavor of the cookies with the hard candy flavor. I did use sweet candies however, and the author's suggestion to use sour candies is probably intentional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I love how this handles. I used regular Christmas cookie cutters and life savers. Parchment paper is the best invention for cookies. I used one piece for the entire batch of cookies. I think the next time I will up the measurement for the spices from 1/4 to 1/2 tesp. I could hardly taste the spices in he cookies. I also uped the oven temp. from 350 to 375 and baked the cookies for 7 minutes for a crispier cookie, my husband really loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roaring Spring, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Wow. I don't know what I did wrong, but the batter had the consistency of soup when it finished chilling. I ended up putting in extra flour and just making ginger cookies. They turned out great, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I just made cookies like (I used my usual cut-out recipe) this and it took till the 5th tray to get them off the pan. I used tin foil covered with nonstick spray. After I had the cookie on the pan, I covered the "opening" with more spray before filling with a whole Jolly Rancher (works better than lifesavers). After baking just till the candy melts, slide the whole sheet of tin foil off the pan and let the cookies cool completely. Turn the cookies upside down and peel off the foil. This is what finally worked for us. The results are beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I loved the stain glass look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
cookies taste fine but how about including a reminder to grease the cookie sheet for those of us that dont bake except on holidays. these cookies are stuck permanently to my nonstick sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States