Stained Glass Candy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
This is the best candy recipe I have ever used. Its simple, easy to make and everyone loves it. We made this for my little girls class at school for her Christmas ( we made one batch red and one batch green) project and it was a hit!! Everyone who taste this candy wants the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2000
This is a very easy recipe. If you are at high altitude, only cook to 290 degrees. I cooked it longer to turn the candy golden, instead of adding food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
Do not use with a rubber spatula....BAD MISTAKE!!!! Tastes very good. *Recommended* Also, it can be reheated after hardening to use again. My kids found that scooping it into spoons and letting it harden that way made lollipops, for an idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
So easy! I also tried making it with orange and lemon extract. I would recommend doubling the added flavoring to get a more distinct taste between the candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
All of my family and friends loved the sweet treat after dinner on Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Great recipe, easy to prepare. I first used lemon flavoring and plan to make more in different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Excellent! I followed the advice of another reviewer and used unsweetened drink mix for the color and flavor. I made a red batch (fruit punch flavor) and a green batch (can't remember the flavor), poured half of each into pans, and swirled them together to create a marbled effect. Very easy and it tastes great. If you use Koolaid for your color and flavor, use two packets; I made the first batch with one packet and the flavor wasn't strong enough. [Edit to add: If you're having difficulties with the candy (ie., won't set up, turned brown, became bitter): these are temperature issues, not recipe issues. Test your candy thermometer by filling a glass with crushed ice, then filling with water, then inserting your thermometer; it should read 32 degrees. If it doesn't, make a note of the difference and use that to calculate how long to cook your candy.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This recipe is the easiest one I have used so far! It has become a hit at my daughter's sleep overs. I found out that you can use 1 unsweetened packet of kool-aid in place of the extract and food coloring. It gives it alot more flavor and plenty of color too. It worked alot better when I lined the pan with parchment paper. Just pull it out, wrap it up and drop it on the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This classic recipe for stained glass candy is great, just like what your mom use to make. But instead of spraying the pan I have always just dusted powder sugar before pouring the mixture, and it gives it a nice sweet and glossy look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Great recipe! This was my first time making this type of candy and will use it again as part of christmas gifts. I, however, used another person idea of using unsweetened kool-aid instead of flavoring and coloring and it turned out GREAT! It was full of color and flavor. Then dusted it with a light coating of sugar to give it that candy store look. Thanks Lisa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ambia, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States