Stained Glass Candy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This was my very first time making hard candy! I followed some of the advice here by omitting the coloring/flavoring and added instead 2 packs of unsweetened cherry Koolaid. Wow! The color is very bright, with lots of flavor, and turned out perfect! I didnt' have any trouble getting it out- I used a well-sprayed jelly roll pan and it broke into pieces easily. I wonder if those who had trouble did not get it to 310 degrees first... I know that took a long time, but I'm sure that if it's not hot enough, it becomes sticky and gooey and then will not break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Excellent! I followed the advice of another reviewer and used unsweetened drink mix for the color and flavor. I made a red batch (fruit punch flavor) and a green batch (can't remember the flavor), poured half of each into pans, and swirled them together to create a marbled effect. Very easy and it tastes great. If you use Koolaid for your color and flavor, use two packets; I made the first batch with one packet and the flavor wasn't strong enough. [Edit to add: If you're having difficulties with the candy (ie., won't set up, turned brown, became bitter): these are temperature issues, not recipe issues. Test your candy thermometer by filling a glass with crushed ice, then filling with water, then inserting your thermometer; it should read 32 degrees. If it doesn't, make a note of the difference and use that to calculate how long to cook your candy.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Great recipe! This was my first time making this type of candy and will use it again as part of christmas gifts. I, however, used another person idea of using unsweetened kool-aid instead of flavoring and coloring and it turned out GREAT! It was full of color and flavor. Then dusted it with a light coating of sugar to give it that candy store look. Thanks Lisa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ambia, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
pretty good, looked just like broken glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Turnage Kibler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This was beautiful to look at, but the end result was a dissapointment. I added a little extra lemon flavoring, but I could still only barely taste it! In addition it was difficult to remove from the pan- my only saving grace was that I had greased parchment paper instead of the pan. If I were to try this again I'd use a stronger extract such as peppermint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This classic recipe for stained glass candy is great, just like what your mom use to make. But instead of spraying the pan I have always just dusted powder sugar before pouring the mixture, and it gives it a nice sweet and glossy look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I've just tried the recipe and me and my family(including my picky twin sister)loved this candy!I'd reccommend it to anyone who comes across this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This recipe is the easiest one I have used so far! It has become a hit at my daughter's sleep overs. I found out that you can use 1 unsweetened packet of kool-aid in place of the extract and food coloring. It gives it alot more flavor and plenty of color too. It worked alot better when I lined the pan with parchment paper. Just pull it out, wrap it up and drop it on the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Great recipe, easy to prepare. I first used lemon flavoring and plan to make more in different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This recipe didn't thrill me as much as I'd hoped. It came out very sticky and there had to be some more extract added for more flavor; without it, it just tasted like cooked sugar. I added another tbs-1/2 of extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States