Stained Glass Candy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
My 13 year old son made this at Christmas and I was amazed at how well he did! He used peppermint extract to flavor. The pieces can be very sharp, so be very carful when braking it apart. All the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M&M in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
really liked this one, I used it to make stained glass butterflies from a silicon mold for center pieces and it really worked well for that, just sprinkle the mold with powder sugar first to make sure it will come out, at the end of the event each of the teachers (LPN school) got a bag of various size butterflies and they loved the taste and twist on the shape
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I LOVE HARD ROCK CANDY AND SO DO MY KIDS, I DIDN'T DO THIS RECIPE THE WAY IT SAYS BECAUSE I KNOW HOW TO MAKE THIS CANDY. I SPRAYED 2 COOKIE SHEETS, PUT IT IN THE FRIDGE THEN WHEN I WENT TO CRACK IT I USED A MEAT TENDERIZER WRAPPED IN A TOWEL TO MINIMIZE THE CANDY BEIING THROWN ALL OVER, THEN I ADDED 1/8 CUP POWDERED SUGER INTO 2 ONE GALLON ZIPLOC BAGS AND COATED THE PIECES. IT WAS VERY GOOD AND WE ALL ENJOYED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreamer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Black River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Be sure to wait a long time before adding the flavoring. I added the almond extract after the syrup had finished bubbling, but the sudden change somehow made it bubble again and the flavor was burned out. Very pretty, though. Makes a wonderful garnish to a christmas candy plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
recipe was very easy to do and i used the koolaid packets but my flavor didn't turn out very well, i used two packets like suggested but it almost tastes bitter or something! help what did i do wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SallyStitches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Ooooooooooooh! so, so good! I have some chilling in the fridge right now and I am just dying to take it out and scarf it down. So easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liesl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I used the orange flavored kool-aid to make for Halloween. I thought this candy was just average, but I DID use only 1 packet. Flavor was very subtle, should have used 2. It does take a long time to reach the required temperature, so be patient the rest of you! LOL I had no problem removing from the pan, but I had sprayed the pan with Pam, then lined with waxed paper, then sprayed the waxed paper with Pam again. The candy slides right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This was my first experience with making hard candy..I made it for christmas last year. It turned out really well! I used mint extract. For the coloring I made a clear batch and dripped red and green food coloring on the liquid after I had poored it in to the pan. I swirled the colors using a toothpick. It turned out very pretty! It also lasts FOREVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephenville, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Love, love the idea of using kool-aid! My kids are crazy about it. So colorful and flavorful. You really do need to use 2 packets of kool-aid. I spread mine on aluminum foil covered in powdered sugar. I found a jelly roll pan makes it too thick in places. I only wish Kool-aid came in cinnamon flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This was my very first time making hard candy! I followed some of the advice here by omitting the coloring/flavoring and added instead 2 packs of unsweetened cherry Koolaid. Wow! The color is very bright, with lots of flavor, and turned out perfect! I didnt' have any trouble getting it out- I used a well-sprayed jelly roll pan and it broke into pieces easily. I wonder if those who had trouble did not get it to 310 degrees first... I know that took a long time, but I'm sure that if it's not hot enough, it becomes sticky and gooey and then will not break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States