Stained Glass Candy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dragonflyte
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I found this recipe after eating some of this great candy at work over the holidays. I tried it and thought, "I can make that!" So I looked it up here and have been making it ever since. I tried to half the recipe for one flavor i wasn't too keen on, but it burned really fast. So I've been making full batches ever since. I also added 1 1/2 Tbl to 2 Tbl of flavor extract to each batch. A candy thermometer is an absolute MUST for this type of candy. My thermometers "hard crack" stage is at 300, not 310 and it works beautifully. Lisa states in her description: "Vanilla, lemon or walnut extract can be easily substituted for almond to add a little variety to your candies" NOTHING should restrict you from making whatever flavor you want. So far I've made lemon, orange, vanilla, strawberry, raspberry, root beer and black licorice (anise). As soon as I find some wintergreen extract and peach extract, I'll be making those too. For those of you who said this candy didn't harden for you, you either didn't cook it to a high enough temperature or you didn't have the right ratio of corn syrup to sugar needed. After the candy hardens and you break it up (I used a wooden spoon), it really helps to coat the pieces in powdered sugar to keep them from sticking together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflyte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Once you learn to make this, the variations are endless. USE A THERMOMETER! It's the only way to guarantee a hard crack success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMCRAFT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Totally loved this recipe. Totally!!! I followed to a T but used a mix of butter & rum extracts because I was using this recipe to simulate exploding bubbly out of a bottle and didn't add any food coloring because the color was just beautiful! I'm making this again!!! Word of advice, have an excellent candy thermometer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I am a first time candy maker - and am in love with this recipe. I didn't have enough light corn syrup so I used 3/4 cup dark and it worked out fine! I used Blueberry flavoring oil and tried to die it blue but since I used the dark corn syrup it ended up more of a green color. Still it is realllllly good! +5000 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Way, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this candy, but it was brown before it reached the proper temperature. Also when I added the vanilla extract, it bubbled and sizzled. Maybe I added it too soon but since it was brown my food coloring did not show up. It had almost a burnt vanilla taste. Gonna try again with peppermint or something clear and maybe not cook it to that temperature(maybe it will stay clear?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
ok so i just made it and it was really easy, but i used the kool-aid like some had suggested, my only problem was the powder didnt want to dislove so i mixed it was just a drop or two of water the next round and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
My son had been asking me to make glass candy so I was excited to find this recipe. The only thing I would change next time is to add a flavored extract as it really didn't have much taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was very easy and tasty. I made the mistake of using maple extract, it's brown, so we really couldn't color it at that point. Our other batch we used peppermint and it colored beautifully. My 13 year old son thought it was a lot of fun to make this, he doesn't usually get into any type of cooking or baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is a great receipe. But instead of flavoring, use oil, ie peppermint, wintergreen, cinnamon. You can get these at the drug store. I have made this receipe for 36 years. It is great with the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
i made this for christmas last year and it did not work at all it never hardend so i had this sticky goo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montesano, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States