Stained Glass Candy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Once you learn to make this, the variations are endless. USE A THERMOMETER! It's the only way to guarantee a hard crack success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMCRAFT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Totally loved this recipe. Totally!!! I followed to a T but used a mix of butter & rum extracts because I was using this recipe to simulate exploding bubbly out of a bottle and didn't add any food coloring because the color was just beautiful! I'm making this again!!! Word of advice, have an excellent candy thermometer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I am a first time candy maker - and am in love with this recipe. I didn't have enough light corn syrup so I used 3/4 cup dark and it worked out fine! I used Blueberry flavoring oil and tried to die it blue but since I used the dark corn syrup it ended up more of a green color. Still it is realllllly good! +5000 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Way, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this candy, but it was brown before it reached the proper temperature. Also when I added the vanilla extract, it bubbled and sizzled. Maybe I added it too soon but since it was brown my food coloring did not show up. It had almost a burnt vanilla taste. Gonna try again with peppermint or something clear and maybe not cook it to that temperature(maybe it will stay clear?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
ok so i just made it and it was really easy, but i used the kool-aid like some had suggested, my only problem was the powder didnt want to dislove so i mixed it was just a drop or two of water the next round and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
My son had been asking me to make glass candy so I was excited to find this recipe. The only thing I would change next time is to add a flavored extract as it really didn't have much taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was very easy and tasty. I made the mistake of using maple extract, it's brown, so we really couldn't color it at that point. Our other batch we used peppermint and it colored beautifully. My 13 year old son thought it was a lot of fun to make this, he doesn't usually get into any type of cooking or baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is a great receipe. But instead of flavoring, use oil, ie peppermint, wintergreen, cinnamon. You can get these at the drug store. I have made this receipe for 36 years. It is great with the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
i made this for christmas last year and it did not work at all it never hardend so i had this sticky goo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montesano, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is a real winner! I make it every Christmas, and sometimes at other holidays or for parties - keep your eye out for new extract flavors, as I have yet to find one that's not good in this. Also, try scoring the still warm candy (let it set up a few minutes so it's soft but not liquid) with a sharp pizza cutter (I use a kitchenaid one that has a really heavy blade). Scoring it first makes it easy to break into 'sticks' later - much easier to eat, and safer for smaller folks to handle -- I make the sticks about 1/2 inch wide and 4-5" long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States