Staffordshire Oatcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Didn't quite taste the same as back home, but still an okay recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Increased liquid/flour ratio to 2:1. Used 1 package of yeast. Added 1 tsp baking powder before frying in hot griddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Something is wrong with the proportions in this recipe. The oatcakes should be like crepes. The batter in this recipe is much too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
best with a sausage inside and a good amount of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah.sazaroo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I've just made these for New Years' Breakfast.They are much thicker and denser than pancakes that we are used to. Directions say "spoon to make a thin pancake," but my batter was much too thick to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
My husband is a Stokie and cant live without his oatcakes. He loves to put them under the broiler with cheese and bacon.... cant say the oats help the cholesterol that way! Make these a day or two ahead, stack them on a plate and cover with saran wrap. They are great for quick lunch with tuna or chicken salad. They are wonderful re-warmed wrapped around scrambled eggs or cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Veradale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I wonder if I did something wrong with this, because my batter was so thick it was not at all spreadable. I had to add alot more liquid to even begin to spread it and it took a long time too cook, and came out rather tough and doughy. Something was wrong with the liquid/dry ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
great recipe very much like crepes but the yeast and oat flour give them an unmistakable flavour .enjoyed with bacon and eggs on a lazy sunday morning .A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States