Stacked Fajita Vegetable Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Andrea Maria
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I followed this recipe mostly. I had to switch out a few things due to allergies to Gluten. I used Corn tortillas instead of flour, gluten free all purpose flour instead of white flour. I used olive oil instead of butter. I made the sauce but not sure I would make it again because I didn't like the way it smelled when I was cooking it and I'm really weird about my food smelling funny and then eating it anyways. I didn't hate the sauce... but will be looking for a different cheese sauce in the future. One preferably i don't have to myself to cut time. It took me alot longer then 30 minutes to prep this recipe. Regardless of all that I loved the dish in itself especially with topping it off with Jalapenos and sour cream. Next time I will be adding more vegetables I didn't feel like it had enough. As a vegetarian/gluten free eater I love my veggies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Maria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Safety Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This recipe took quite a while to make and I was not a fan of the yeast sauce--it has a weird smell and flavor that doesn't go with a "fajita" recipe. I think without that, it has more potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I am committing the cardinal sin of rating a recipe that I altered. The review is based on my alterations, not as written. Since I didn't want to go to the grocery store and I had cheese in the house but not nutritional yeast, I just subbed cheese for the nutritional yeast sauce. I also used the easy enchilada sauce recipe from this site. This was good and the family all liked it. I will make it again with the yeast sauce; after all the good reviews, I am eager to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This has great potential. However, the rice didn't stand out enough - there either needs to be a lot more, or you might as well just leave it out. I think next time I will leave it out, because you don't really need rice when you've already got tortillas! As for the tortillas, I think I will leave them whole in the future and just use more of them. The casserole fell apart too much for my taste when serving it (it ended up looking like chili on my plate); I think whole tortillas would help hold it together in layers a bit better. I only had two cans of beans instead of three, but I think that was more than sufficient, and I added LOTS more veggies because this recipe calls for so few. I love veggies, so I used two smallish onions, 3 peppers (red/yellow/green), a whole zucchini, and mushrooms. I wouldn't bother with the oil/marinade step. Why waste time/ingredients? Just saute the veggies in the seasoning. The yeast sauce was VERY good, though. I will definitely use that again. I like having vegan (if you take out the butter) recipes in my arsenal just in case I ever entertain vegans for dinner. And I love that this recipe calls for brown rice and whole wheat tortillas. I always substitute with whole grains in recipes anyway, but it's nice to see a recipe actually call for them. Thanks, David and Krista!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was so good! I ended up marinating the veggies for about 4 hours. Skipped the nutritional yeast "cheese" step and used a can of condensed cheddar cheese soup instead. EDIT: I just wanted to update this regarding leftovers- I wish I could give them six stars. This dish only gets better the next day, and topped with sour cream it is simply phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Very good, next time t will cut peppers and onions in strips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! I made this for dinner the other night, and my husband (a meat eater) could not stop raving! The only changes I made were to use green chiles instead of jalapeno, a (cooked) bag of dried beans rather than canned, and olive oil in place of the margarine. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
OMG...this was FABULOUS! I joined the website just so I could rate the dish. So here's the deal...I'm not a fan of peppers, 3 cans of beans sounded like a lot and I've never made "cheese" with nutritional yeast. I got the nutritional yeast at Whole Foods (bulk section). However, I made this WORD for WORD and it was amazing. I've told everyone I know. Expand yourself and make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I prepped the rice and veggies the day before to make this easier. Followed the recipe exactly, except added a layer of cheese. Was a little unsure about the yeast sauce at first, but it really made the meal! This recipe is a definite keeper for my family. I'm giving it only 4 stars because of the long prep time, but it's definitely worth it because it makes plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States